Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:54 - 18.12.05
Uranus Square Mercury - Do Si Do
Phil Collin's music always seems to have a way of marking turning points in my life. Maybe that's because we are both late January Aquarians born in the the same decade. Right now what is ringing true in my life and through my mind is his song "I Don't Care Anymore". Take it whichever way you want.

Today at work was not productive, but it was instructive. A lot of the little games and cabals that have been playing out in the background were thrown into full light when I made a snap decision just after opening the office. We completed labelling all the Voter Information cards delivered to us to date late yesterday afternoon. An effort was made to call all the people who had asked to be slated in for that task today to let them know their help wasn't necessary. Even so, there was a crowd arriving even as we opened the office. What I have suspected about one office worker became provable, when it was discovered that they have been keeping their own material from everyone else - apparently cutting and making their own deals. The minute they walked in they started carping and criticizing everyone else because they weren't "doing their work properly". Turns out that person has been creating situations with her guerilla bookings that make other workers look as though they were incompetent. They hadn't been aware that today would play out in a way that would illuminate their little hidey holes. I cut them off mid-rant and told them to wait in their office. Left them to stew while I dealt with the temporary workers that that worker had tried to use as pawns.

Those people who arrived in good faith to work? Set them up for training on data entry. Two of them were obviously not familiar with computers while the others were fine. I knew it was supposed to be a "slow day", so I decided that for the explosion of work that is likely to start at the very beginning of January I might as well begin getting my ducks - or data entry people - in a row. There was one staff member who I wanted to take on the role of supervisor, so I asked her to train them on the program that is built into our software for working with the public while being online. It was a test of everyone involved in that process both supervisory and as front line workers. How quickly can they adapt to rapidly changing circumstances, how quickly can they learn to do new tasks, and does pressure bother them. Interestingly enough the people who were used as pawns aced the test, as did the person I wanted to take on the supervision. My tech and my youngest both jumped in feet first to assist and that is what I had hoped would happen too. That part of the afternoon was stellar.

The negative part was the cabal that has been just below the surface in that department, that involves the other half of the team. One of the supervisors that I brought on early has been the focus of some bullying from two of the new to this event, but previous election workers who feel they are entitled to a lot more than they have a right. Their intent seems to have been to make this fellow so flustered that he makes the mistakes that they are accusing him of doing. When they saw the one position they had planned for as their own taken over by the new supervisor, they redoubled their attack on this fellow. I'll deal with that and the hoarding worker in the next few days. Sounds easy, but those three are using others in the office to hide behind as they play out their strategies. As in the last election, I need to determine when collusion is willing and when it is co-opted or unconscious. No need to penalize other people when I can address the source of the cancer.

My tech and I have some very interesting conversations some times. This morning on the way to work was one of those; it continued at the end of the day after our adventures in Alice's "Through the Looking Glass". Work related, but such as they are linked to things such as near death experiences we have both had. It means sometimes that "reality" is a very relative term. The sale of the one company I was working for and the reconfiguation of the company we both were working in before I left, and where he still operates, seems to have triggered some of those near death memories that sometimes don't manifest until the time is "right" for their emergence - when the physical reality catches up with the spiritual or non-ordinary dimension. Weird exchanges when the words really don't exist to convey the whole of the perception. At least not for me. Hmmmmmmmmmmmm.

Last night/early this morning, I caught up on all my monthly and unexpected bills from all the household crises we've had since September. Doesn't leave much left over, but at least it digs me out of that hole a little bit. Any peace of mind is better than none - right? I sent flowers to the one worker/friend in the hospital down east and ordered my Dad's Christmas present - HAARPs,ley lines and antigravity angels. Had to wait for this first pay period. I don't know if I'll receive that order before Christmas Day, but then again Elections Canada says we have to be at the office and open for business that day with no exceptions. Means I won't be going to the usual family gathering as a result. Headquarters wants us to have several of our other key staff in place, but they'll have to settle for just me for certain. I am not making anyone else work on that day. There are others that may be willing to help, but no stat pay and no overtime allowed means there is no real benefit to offer anyone for their extra efforts. Bah Humbug, eh? When the election was called, the politicians all declared that everyone would take a two week hiatus over Christmas. I guess that doesn't include those of us who determine whether the polls open or not. It was one of my staff's observations that perhaps we should all decide to take advance polls and election day off in lieu of Christmas - close the offices and go home. Hmmmmmmmmmmm. Two.

Anyway time for bed. No sugarplums please, we are trying to lose weight.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats