Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:47 - 27.11.05
Healing
Not a lot to report today dear diary. The antibiotics haven't really taken hold yet and I still feel quite sick. The doctor muttered something about the infection having just started going down in to the lungs, so I guess I should be grateful that at least this go round I won't have to contend with pneumonia again. Two of my co-workers - the one fired a few weeks ago and the one who had the nerve to thwart the original Christmas party seating plan - have developed chronic respiratory problems. Because I have openly used some "unusual" therapies such as eucalyptus oil and herbal tinctures they had both asked me for more information about what alternatives to the western pharmaceuticals are available and how to determine their proper use. That's a lot more complicated than it sounds as one size definitely does not fit all. I cobbled together an essay on herbal, homeopathic and alternate Asian therapies and sent it off to them this morning. I didn't address some of the European methodologies, although some of their therapies are pretty impressive too. I especially like some of the approaches used by German practitioners. However I am still not as familiar with them as the ones I discussed in my own little homily today. As I was going through some of the links I was suggesting they read, I found a lot of information available that I hadn't been aware was out there. See, teaching or helping others provides rewards well beyond just the satisfaction of a good deed. This time I found a whole new treasure trove of information that might also help my physical health as well. That essay? See below. Maybe it will help you too, dear diary, and that would make me very happy.

"Here are some things to think about if you want to try herbal and complementary medicines with respect to asthma, allergies or to stop smoking.

This writer gives some thought to the safeguards necessary to deal with herbal and homeopathic remedies.

That is the weakness that is apparent in a lot of other articles - they discuss the benefits, but not any side effects, or they get caught up in the controversies that surround a lot of treatments whether from western or alternative sources. Any time you use a substance, such as tobacco, that acts on the nervous system, there are likely to be cons as well as pros. The reversal of the effects will also raise some precautions you need to think about to incorporate into your plan for stopping. For example, I use lobelia when I can't breathe. If I take too much for the reaction being addressed then I definitely get nauseous. I weigh that against the degree of impairment in my breathing, then go from there.

There are a lot of herbalists in Calgary who have a good reputation, so you might want to call one of them for more guidance if you are not sure. One of the people I really like is Dr Badri Rickhi. He is an accredited doctor and psychiatrist in western medicine. In addition, he was born and raised in the Caribbean and I think it is his father who is of East Indian heritage, so he also grew up with Ayurvedic and Asian techniques being part of his daily life. He has participated in and been sponsored by the World Health Organization in his research here in Calgary. The clinic he is associated with is i-med. Another well known herbalist in Calgary is Dr Terry Willard. He started his herbalist's practice from his family farm and is well regarded for the quality of the product he produces. His encyclopedia is a really good research tool too. He is a bit more controversial than Dr Rickhi, but when I was taking physiotherapy it was still a cause to be stripped of one's accreditation if one even mentioned the word accupuncture. Times and perceptions change with education and research. In Edmonton the best resouce person is Dr Stephen Aung who teaches Traditional Chinese medicine at University of Alberta. He and Dr Rickhi used to collaborate a lot. I took some courses that they offered about a decade ago and found that they were quite useful to me.

The other issue that has to be considered is what is legal in a country. Lobelia, Vervain, Hops, Scullcap, and Mullein are all allowed as food supplements in Canada, at least for now. Some other herbs are not. When you research on the internet, but before you order, you need to check customs regulations first so you don't find yourself afoul of Mr Government. For example, I know that the British use these patches, but I don't know if they are allowed for import here. Call and ask Canada Customs if in doubt.

The final issue is the quality of the product you choose. Some of the stuff on the market is not all that effective, because producing herbal medicines takes a lot of time and care. It does not lend itself to mass production very well. These are a couple of sites I find useful for research or a starting point for queries although I always check several sources before making a decision on whether I want to experiment on myself or not. As you well know in the middle of an asthma attack a mistake could have very serious consequences. Also sometimes what works for one person doesn't work for another because the triggers are different. You also need to know if you have allergies to some things. For example, goldenseal is often considered a great immune system booster, but it isn't going to be useful to you if you are allergic to it's pollen.

In the short term I use a combination of strategies to deal with asthma. First is the use of something like eucalyptus oil or the Chinese formula "White Flower Oil" to open my airways without having any drug in my system. I carry a standard inhaler with me, of course, but I don't like using it because of the side effects it causes. Better than not breathing though. I also use a couple of brands of over-the-counter antihistamines for immediate relief when I can feel an asthma or allergic reaction occuring instead of the inhaler, if I can catch the flare up early enough. I keep a liquid tincture of either lobelia, mullein or some combination of the herbs mentioned above for unexpected attacks that occur when a trigger substance I wasn't aware of is around me.

At one point I wasn't using any prescribed medicine to manage the asthma attacks, but since those forest fires about a year ago, I haven't been able to get back to that level of lung health. According to Health Canada there seems to be an increase of particulate matter in the air that is really sabotaging that right now. Happy reading."

Well it sounded good at the time and happy reading to you too dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats