Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:23 - 25.11.05
Hip hop
"Just another day in Paradise" sings Mr Collins. Don't know about that, but I did wake up and vomit for about an hour first thing this morning. Elegant way to start the day. I felt much better after, but really weak, so I called the second in command and explained that I would go in to the warehouse when I could manage the bus. Went back to sleep. The phone rang around 9:30 and it was Elections Canada. They had run diagnostics on the cell phone problem and believed they had fixed it. Could I answer the cell phone call in the next few minutes so they could check it out. Sure. Worked like a charm.

Realized as I was talking with the gentleman who called that I was feeling better, so I hopped in the shower then called a cab to come fetch me. A couple of hours worth of pay for that, but I would lose almost as much in wages if I had to take the bus instead because of the amount of travel time. I also had some questions about my ability to get as far as that bus stop right then. Logged in at the warehouse at 11:20 and printed off more worksheets. Was trying to email the second in command to let her know I had arrived, when I opened the address book to locate her information. Funny thing - a male relative of hers (her name is not all that common) was listed right next to hers and their status was strange - no reporting hierarchy included. I think I've determined who will be replacing me in the warehouse don't you? The fox in charge of the hen house, but that is the company's call I guess.

I focussed on easy boxes today, because I wasn't certain how good my attention to detail was going to be. Was able to polish off about one per hour instead of one per half day. As I noted earlier - god bless accountants.

Left about half an hour after my usual quit time. It was dark when I reached the other end of the route, but I wanted to get to the post office before I went home. I was hoping my cheque would be in the new PO box I rented and it was. Good thing - my bank account is really bare. Picked up a parcel sent by Elections Canada, then walked the balance of the route home. I had only sat down in front of the computer when the phone rang. Elections Canada again. It was one of my favorite support people. Could we work on the connectivity problem with the modem. Sure thing. It was fixed within the hour as we discussed things like weather and things electoral. Lot of tension in that office right now as it gears up for a maybe event next week. Training and finding places for all the temporary staff who will call it home for the next few months. A phone message from the realtor about getting the new locks in place generated a couple more phone calls and emails, and an email from Elections Canada about furnishing the office created more work. There had been an email today from the woman who was laid off from the department nearly two weeks ago just giving us her new contact information. I emailed back and I hope that is a relationship that can be continued after the fact. The list of who in the department would be seated where at the company Christmas party had arrived in the inbox just before I left work and it told a story too. The majority of the department and their guests would be at two tables together. The supervisor, the second in command and the perfumed coworker were off on their own. What ever.

When I read my weekly prognostication from my favorite astrologer last week it stated that sitting with my back to the wall was going to be really difficult, because there was no wall. Found that out in spades on Monday - didn't I? This week's was really confusing when I read it last night. Something about taking a creative urge or idea and playing it out like a blues riff. Massaging that little bit of information and drawing it out to a fine point. I had no idea what he was talking about and put it down to cultural aphasia. Those Texans just don't think about things in the same way we northerners do sometimes, yet at other times we have the same mind - which is very frightening to contemplate at that. During the afternoon though a couple of thoughts about current issues brought some very entertaining insight and a couple of Uranian flashes of lightning. I love lightning and lightening both. When that last time happened at work where I was almost fired; I had attened a workshop by Matthew Fox at Knox United Church Cosmic Christ author) two weeks earlier, just as Neptune and Uranus were going to direct motion together. When we had danced the thunderbird song - or at least that is how I always think of it - I could see the lightning and hear the rolling of the thunder watching Alice's (In Wonderland) chess board transfigure in an instant. Then the same thing happened at work. Guess what? I was watching that very thing again today, only this time Alice got to choose the moves. We'll see. Thunderbirds are one of my totems - wonder if that comes with the car.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats