Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:39 - 09.11.05
catch up
I was at home sick today dear diary, although I think a lot of what I was feeling was stress. Two jobs, too many demands without repect for boundaries by either employer - you know the "all my time is their time" thing - and then the theft and harassing behaviour too. I'm not in the mood for it right now, thank you very much.

The contractor was here again today and I now have a very sturdy 6.5 ft high fence all around my yard. At the front it butts up against the lines of cotoneaster growing along the property line that was planted as soon as we moved in. The bushes are now about the same height as the fence even when they are trimmed back. The balcony is framed as well, so I think that should be completed by tomorrow. The sound of the saws and drills really had the cats spooked - they must hear something we don't I guess. The yard looks a right mess in the back, but that's the price one pays for privacy and some sense of safety I guess.

Election Canada emailed last night wanting blueprints of all the telephone jacks in the space we're renting, so my assistant and I met the realtor there just before rush hour so I could get that done. We have more than enough plugins for both phones and computers that's for certain. The realtor we are working with is really helpful and he's offered to look after some of the details the day the writ is dropped when I give him the notice he needs. That eases things for me too. More security concerns dealt with. There is a lot of fire and bluster in parliament now, but none of the parties want to be seen as the one who precipitated an election campaign that would see voting right around Christmas Day. Makes electors really cranky that. Answered some additional queries by email for that project too - the devil in the details you know.

On the way home my assistant and I swung by the one retail store that was having a sale on housewares. I picked up some drapery panels really cheap to replace the ones the cats have shredded. Couldn't resist some Christmas decorations that were by the till either. This is one of those places that sells the same material as the regular stores for about one tenth the cost. The last item was a new coffee maker. The carafe for my old one broke last spring and I just didn't have the time or money to replace it. The store was selling the entire unit for less than the cost of the replacement carafe. Too good to let go by especially with a permanent filter as part of the package.

Other than that one foray out into the wider world I spent the day sleeping with a bit of laundry and drapery hanging thrown in for fun. I think I'll go back to that now - both the laundry and the sleeping that is. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats