Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:41 - 06.11.05
Busyness
Today was pretty busy dear diary, but in a positive way. My oldest son called first thing in the morning. He and his roomie were ready to come and dig the postholes for the new fence. They swung by number three son's home to pick up a parcel for me ther so I had time to shower and prepare a bit for them. We headed for the hardware store first. While we were standing in line at the Tim Horton's coffee shop in the store my brother-in-law wandered up to greet us. He had just arrived to work himself so he got settled then came by to help us get all the fixtures and material we need to rebuild the main bathroom and upgrade the half bath as well. Got a start on buying the pieces I need to refurbish the kitchen too. Several sheets of drywall and plywood, mud, tape and what have you later we packed up the rental truck then headed off the pick up the auger for the post holes.

Back at home it was realized that the guys didn't have quite enough information to work with the auger so we called the installer and then got on with the job. Power augers are wonderful things. The first fence was put up 25 years ago with the hand powered augers. I think it took the boys Dad, my Dad and my grandfather(Papa)two days just to dig those holes. Took the two guys less than an hour and the biggest worry was that they didn't hit anything solid like bedrock. My oldest said one fellow he knew was thrown through a fence and broke his hip when the auger struck a rock. The last hole was a problem and the two of them needed all their strength together not to be swung off their feet. They hauled all that building material in to my living room then left to return the rental equipment and truck.

I cleaned up a bit then got ready for my meeting with my second in command. She had wanted to go through some of the bits that she felt were new or that had been emphasized at her training in Ottawa last month and this was the first date we could both work out a time to do that - the fence was a bit of an issue but that worked out just fine in the end, right? She had a few tidbits that I hadn't had any notice about so that was fruitful, then we started talking about the industry I work in. Her hubby works in it too so she is quite knowledgeable about it. I told her in vague terms what had happened at the place I was work ing last week. It helped a lot to vent about some of the treatment I received from the two supervisors and to have someone about who understood what I was talking about.

Returned home and my youngest and I had supper together. He had been working on several projects to support the work flow I was trying to get completed and he did a great job. Worked on the elections assignm,ent for a few hours since I was finally able to access the forms I needed from their database. Their computer is still fried but I found another way through my email account to log in to the folders I needed. Finally - might be able to complete everything after all. I had called the help line between when my oldest son left and when my assistant arrived to ask for help with their hard drive only to be told that there waas no technical staff scheduled to work at all this weekend. None. Nada. Fine can I have the phone numbe for the manufacturer myself so I can make arrangement swith them for direct service. Weel I will give you the number but I can't give you authorization to use it - that has to come from the technical staff. Uh huh. I see. So much for deadlines eh?

Guess I shouldn't complain though should I. When I was talking with the young woman who rides the train and bus with me on Friday morning she told me two of her friends were the ones who had died in one of the car crashes that happened with that first snow. Then my walking partner came by in the afternoon to see me. Had she told me that her Dad had died last month? No. I had posted about how ill he was when last we met but that was early September I think. Not being on site means losing some contact with people and that can mean missing important events in their life. She asked if I would be able to have lunch with her on Monday. Sounds like a plan to me - and a good one at that. First I have to get through tomorrow though and I think it is going to be even busier than today. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats