Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

21:12 - 16.10.05
Family affairs
You may have noticed that one of my entries disappeared, dear diary. Now that I have a Gold Membership, one of the privileges extended to me is a locked folder. One of the several reasons I began this diary three years ago was because of the nature of my work. Sometimes it is with very sensitive information where documentation is important around the actions of myself and others. It is a form of protection for me and a record of what occurred at that time recorded as it was evolving. Other than editing for clarity, I have generally left the writing as a first draft so that it is as close to what I can recall of events in real time. Sometimes I have found it frustrating to try and get enough information down without revealing protected or confidential information into the bargain. That helps no one. What I wrote about in the entry now in that private folder is in that category now, but likely won't be in a few months - at least I hope not. Because I captured very specific details, I really don't think it wise to leave them out in plain view until the people who need to clean up their act are given the chance to do so. If they don't then the record of due diligence will still be there for my own protection. Either way, when the time comes that it is not as sensitive in terms of security of the data then I'll restore it to this portion of your electrons.

Today was a family day. Given both my contracts are active now and the renovations are still a major issue, I really was feeling I couldn't spare the time away from all the work piled up waiting for processing. However, family ties are really important too and it appeared everyone was going to attempt to meet at my brother's home for a belated Thanksgiving supper. My Dad arrived before noon. The first time I've seen him since May, although we've talked by phone of course.

We stopped by the home renovation store so I could pay the deposit required. Next step will be them calling to let me know when the work will actually be done. My brother-in-law wasn't in working this weekend, but he was at my brother's home. The family visit gave us time to discuss different issues without constraint, so he could vet them through for me at the store. One of those was how my deck was to be rebuilt. My brother has just finished enclosing his in a way that keeps the elements out without creating another physical room that would require a building permit. Basically just extended beams covered with clear hard plastic fluted sheets and an enclosure around the periphery of the balcony that allows outside access all year round, but doesn't impair the outdoor feeling one has when sitting there. Basically the "windows" are cut down well below the normal height and ring the balcony on all sides.

One of my sisters brought some new to me skirts and dresses for work that she has outgrown or grown tired of. That is something I've really needed for a while - replenished wardrobe - but couldn't afford. A new to me pair of winter boots that are known for their warmth and durability was also in that package. Touched base with nephews and nieces and made some arrangements with them for different "aunt" specific activities. I believe it's referred to as "spoiling" in the old parenting manuals, but that is my job right? Besides, I rarely get to be on the giving side for them, so I take the chance whenever it arises. Met a new girlfriend who may become a permanent part of one other sister's family. My uncle arrived too so we were able to catch up on the news of him and of my two cousins - one in Quebec and one in Asia - both working. An engineer and a diplomat - how cool is that? Tales of he and my aunt's planned travels in the New Year too. My sons who weren't working today dropped in as they could, so I heard tales of their days too and caught up on news of their friends as well. One brother in law works with a neighbour a few doors down from my home. He has been hearing a really destructive rumour circulated about my youngest appearing to come from the bad neighbour next door. It is bad enough he has tried so hard to damage my reputation and sense of safety in the community, but stooping to attack my son's character and to try and make him feel uncomfortable living here now constitutes harassment as far as I am concerned. I'm not certain how to deal with it, because it is like the question the lawyer asks a man on the stand - "when did you stop beating your wife, Mr Jones" When Mr Jones never hurt his wife to begin with. No matter what Mr Jones responds it appears that he is guilty. Old psychology trick where the main assertion is based on a false assumption that is given the appearance of fact by the tactic of not asking if the first assertion is the truth or a lie. Read cards for a couple of sisters and discussed ways and means of dealing with certain issues with others. The meal was great and the conversations even better.

Arrived home and the phone rang about five minutes later. My sister's sister-in-law was calling from that pristine island community off Vancouver Island in British Columbia. Just letting me know how things were going and telling me how peaceful and energizing her life had become outside the big city. Hard not to be envious for certain, but I tried. I joked that I had told her brother I was going to be consulting with her this evening, because he started in teasing as soon as he saw me and continued through the dinner mostly with my brother and the other brother's in-law ganging up together. The family witch you know - card reading and astrology being the reason. I just joked that if they really wanted to understand what I did they should read Harry Potter. Wonder what kind of wand Mr Ollivander would find for me.

My sister's sister-in-law said she was attending an ashram's meditation and yoga classes daily and was finding the experience was releasing a lot of old garbage. Not entirely without discomfort, but it's kind of like having a sliver removed right? You know for healing to be complete, with no complications, the offending article must be removed first. She has also joined some of the environmentalist activities going on, as well as some of the political action groups that are active there. Issues dear to her heart. We discussed astrological things of course - the eclipse, the retrogrades, and charts of specific people. I think, like most astologers, one is always curious how specific aspects play out in different people's lives given the different colorations of personality, culture and time of life. We agreed to talk in a couple of weeks when she has finally set up a web connection, so I can get started on trying to creat a webpage for her. I need a concrete project when I'm trying to learn new skills and this seems to work for both of us. She knows not to expect anything "professional", but it will give her a tool to work from when she decides to join the cybercommunity. I get to play with colour and design to my heart's content without having someone being hypercritical. We both get to experiment with a new-to-us concept and that is a very Aquarian thing to do, isn't it? Anyway time to finish some laundry and dishes so I can read to my youngest with a clear conscience that I have accomplished some of the tasks I set out to finish this weekend. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats