Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:56 - 26.09.05
drudgery
Short entry tonight, dear diary. The day was very busy. Just moved from one task to another trying to get as much accompished as possible. The frustrating part at the end of the day is when there is no visible proof of that industry. Add that on to several days previous with the same tenor and it just feels as though it's all for nought. I know it's that Mr Mars going stationary in preparation for turning retrograde, but I have too much to do to stall out now. Still having nightmares and last night I woke up to find myself crying. Can't figure any of that out. Maybe picking up on someone nearby or someone I know I guess.

So what did I do today. Went shopping for groceries. A lot of tension among the staff. Last week when I was there everyone seemed laid back and relaxed. When one of the young men hit the PA system button instead of the dial out he was asking "Mom are you there?". It was very obvious in the aisles which women present had sons of that age. All of us stopped, looked up and tried to determine if we were really hearing what we thought. It caused chuckling throughout the store for quite some time after too. This week nothing brought out a smile. It was as though the customers walking about didn't exist, no eye contact. Now when I went to the post office yesterday, located a few stores over, there was a sign up saying it's last day of operation would be October 1st. couple of months ago, the clothing store that had been next door to the grocery store for at least a decade closed it's doors too. I had already been told by their staff that it was a Canada wide decision by the new owners, so I hadn't concerned myself with it too much. There have been several "big box" operations opening up very close to this mall. A guess would be that the competition is so fierce that survival for some of the stores will become an issue. I have the luxury of being able to shop at the grocery store of my choice even though the prices are slightly higher because I can now afford it. A few years ago, I would have been like a lot of the current lost customers who have to go where they can reduce their costs, because they don't have enough money even to meet all their basic bills. Survival for them too, but at the expense of someone else's business or job. Thought I saw my former supervisor standing at the end of the pet care aisle, but he lives in the opposite end of the city. The fellow stood there for quite some time though as though he was waiting for something. Maybe one of his family had told him not to move until they got back. Don't know.

Housework occupied the spaces in between election work the balance of the day. Laundry was for the switching over from summer clothes to fall and winter. Washed up my "desk in a bag" and my purse at the same time since I needed to go through them anyway for the change over. Got rid of the sun hat and glasses while adding in a headband, gloves and scarf. Heavy duty winter gear will wait for another month, but I also added in one of those silver "space age" blankets that is supposed to keep one warm even though it is so thin. If nothing else, it will help someone find my body if I get stuck in a snow drift out in the industrial area. Bought more packets of survivor food at the grocery store today too. Blizzards can appear out of nowhere starting anytime after about mid October. Sleeping overnight in that warehouse will certainly be safe enough, but there is no place nearby to pick up essentials should the heat and water be affected. Just being cautious. Forgot to buy matches but batteries were secured. A little bit at a time.

Election work was more reading of the instructions and then strategizing with one of the other Returning Officers around resources we could share. Certain things are often in short supply so we try to think ahead. Got word my assistant will be going to Ottawa for her training in October so that's progress too. I'll start with the actual paperwork tomorrow once I install all the extra software and disks of data sent with the manual. That's when I'll really be able to tell how much time I'm going to have to find to get it all done. Anyway guess I'd better crawl in to bed soon. The morning commute is still a bit of a challenge for me. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats