Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:44 - 17.09.05
Meeting Up
BB King - Happy Birthday sir.

I heard from the supervisor of personnel at city transit shortly after I returned home tonight. He was just letting me know they had verified the identity of the driver who was so thoughtless yesterday. His supervisor will be meeting with him tomorrow. I was surprised how quickly he called me back. The woman who had taken my initial call said that 10 days was the average time for processing complaints, given the heavy volumes pouring in at present. I was pleased my concerns were taken seriously and that follow through will occur. It may mean I have another really angry neighbour somewhere in the community though, depending on what transpires tomorrow.

Don't borrow trouble. My grandmother always used to say that. She has been present a lot in my mind lately, as has my Mom. My mother - being a Scorpio - had a pendant with a gold scorpion on a black background that she always wore. My Dad gave it to me. The chain had disappeared after the robbery of my home at the end of 2000. The pendant was in my purse at the time, so it was one of the few pieces of jewelry that wasn't stolen. Irreplacable anyway. Last night I walked into my bedroom and found that chain nicely laid out just in front of my chest of drawers. The cats were all giving it a wide berth, even though it is very close to their water and food bowls. Hmmmmmm. I still have to get a link for it, but both pieces are now in my purse reunited, as it were.

I was late getting home today, because I had a very long, late lunch with one of the women who I was friends with during junior and senior high after work. We had met about a year ago. Time slid away very quickly this year. We just hadn't been able to co-ordinate any time together before now, as a result. A time of testing for both of us - and everyone else it seems. She had cancer that appeared to be in remission until just before Christmas last year. The possible recurrence drained her completely. She spent several months on our west coast just resting and painting. Yes, the friend who is the artist. Her hubby was so distressed that one of his buddies sprang for an ocean fishing trip for him off the Queen Charlotte Islands this summer. She says her freezer is now full of fish. I'm guessing mostly salmon. We had got to talking about diet as a means of managing a lot of illnesses and syndromes as a result. We both have had sons who were diagnosed as "hyperactive or ADHD", when in reality it was their allergies to certain additives and food that caused their developmental problems. We both had to go against the advice of medical staff to ensure that the underlying cause of their problems was addressed rather than just trying to control the symptoms with toxic chemicals - excuse me, pharmaceuticals - like prozac, zyban and ritalin. Side effects include death and mental illness, don't you know. I guess there's no profit to be made in just eliminating those allergens from one's diet, eh? Got to keep those stockholders happy, so what is the death of a few children anyway? Culling the herd - right? We both share a deep distrust of the medical community based on our experiences during seeking care for our sons or ourselves. We spent quite a bit of time discussing the source problems in our local environment brought on by the mining and resource exploitation going on all around our city.

We were just about to order when the fire alarm went off. Another theme developing, I think. Apparently all businesses in the mall are linked together. A fire in any part of that vast complex causes the alarms to go off in every business. That automatically shuts down certain amenities - such as a grill or oven - immediately.

It is really late again dear diary so I think I'll continue the story lines intertwining this week tomorrow when I can see the keyboard better. Good night. solar flares taken from the SOHO telescope


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats