Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:13 - 10.09.05
Currents
First duty this morning, even before submitting my timesheet, was to help collect the doughnuts from Tim Hortons (Canadian, eh). The coworker I switched places with in May was treating, because it was the birthday of the one supervisor that she travels with every morning. They live in one of the little bedroom communities that radiate out like spokes in a wheel for about 20 miles out all around our city. Theirs is due east and on the north part of that wheel. Farming country mostly. Fun way to start the day.

The coworker from the same agency as me came by just as I returned. Had Fred caused me any more trouble after the one incident yesterday afternoon. Well yes, my cell phone images were upside down and reversed. Good thing I can read mirror images, isn't it? She isn't admitting it, but I think the whole issue bothers her quite a bit. Being new to a company/department is enough of a challenge for most people, I think, so this is just one more stressor to deal with. She'll manage. I thought about showing her this story about ghosts haunting a restaurant and the reaction of the owners about it, but decided to wait until she was a bit more comfortable with the idea. Workplace ambience if you will.

I find her a very calming influence. A down to earth kind of lady. She said she really liked the eucalyptus vapours in the area, because they made her feel better physically. I just noted that it means I don't have to use my meds as often. Less chemicals floating around in my system. She made a point of talking about perfume and it's effect on a lot of people. She wears a scent too, but she doesn't marinate in it like the perfumed coworker. Nor does she constantly add more. Sometimes the perfumed one is in our department's bathroom at least once an hour scenting up. What is with that? I commented that I don't really care if others wear some scent they favour - life goes on - it is just the intensity that some seem to require. They also seem to be the first to object when I open that bottle of eucalyptus oil, even though it is much less pervasive than what they wear. Subliminal territorial dominance. Wouldn't matter to me except for the fact that some days I can't breathe without major doses of drugs as a result.

About 10:40 in the am it was as though I could smell cigarette smoke and it seemed I could hear the one supervisor in our work area saying she really needed one. It also seemed that someone else told her it would be better for her if she could abstain. She is the one that was supposed to have surgery today. I went over to the ally's work area to ask her if she knew whether that had been done yet. she said that the supervisor was on a standby list for operating room space on Fridays until a time became available for her surgery. Nothing like playing Russian roulette with one's health, because of surgeon or operating room shortages is there? The supervisor had to miss the past two days of work, because she was just in too much pain to function. She tried really hard to cope, but she was obviously struggling all the time. A call came in around 3:30 from one of the supervisor's family just letting us know that the surgery had been done and appeared to be successful. That's a very good way to end a work week, isn't it?

Work was steady around all the interruptions for celebrations and the tantric energies pulsing through the atmosphere throughout the morning. Oh yeah. I'm not certain why they were so active. Maybe the return to direct motion of the planet Pluto astrologically a few days ago. Tantra is a Pluto thang, after all. Whatever the reason, though pleasant in and of itself, it was a bit, um, distracting. So what did I do? Put my tantric meditation CD on of course. "Flow with the energies, be one with the moment." Try explaining that to one's supervisor.

Went out at noon and bought one bra - ouch. The price had nearly doubled. The problem is that I find it very hard to find something that fits, is comfortable and keeps everything in place, even if I am hip hopping or belly dancing. One of the women from the June dance lessons came by, not long after the course, to comment on how well that piece of engineering worked for me. Most of the other women really found that the most difficult part of the whole day. Most aren't physically active, so they aren't properly foundationed you see.

There was an article in the newspaper about the dance studio this week, so there must be some sort of synchronicity operating there too. I'm glad that there is so much positive publicity occurring for the owner and his family. They've worked really hard to build their business. Apparently some of the stars of the movies being shot here are using their facilities to practice their craft. Robert Duvall and his wife were tangoing. From the interview he gave, he sounds like a really nice person. When I went out after work there were the trailers for one star's production lining one of the main downtown streets. Must have been a dozen all together. The big RV's that is. I guess they must be planning to shoot scenes all weekend. Hope the film isn't weather dependent though. When I looked out the window about 2 pm this afternoon there were snow flakes dancing and shimmering in the angled sunlight shafting into the office windows. What did I do? Put on my Christmas carol CD, of course. Rankin Family Christmas. East coast gaelic, carols in English and French too.

I had been trying for the past month to get an answer from one of the senior people at Elections Canada, after receiving instructions from them to submit my plan of action to them on a certain issue. I was to wait for their further instructions/approval before proceeding. I did my part immediately, but then there was silence from their end. Several emails and telephone calls elicited no response, so I finally got tired of playing the game and emailed the lawyer late last night. I really like working with him and he always seems to be able to smooth out the bumps for me. Sure enough, he had an answer to send back to me within two hours of the beginning of his work day. Nice guy. What it means for me is that my stress level just dropped by half. Hanging in limbo is not something I tolerate well when there is no need for it, and there wasn't. A simple yes, maybe, or no would have sufficed. I'll get that task covered off tomorrow, then do the preparation for that big assignment from them the rest of the weekend. I love the technical work I do for Elections Canada, especially given the communities under my care, but I could do without some of their politics, thank you very much. Anyway time for bed I think, even the cats have settled in for the night. Maybe it's that picture postcard weather outside that calms them, eh? More likely the three hours of their riotous game of tag, but who am I to say.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats