Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

21:29 - 03.09.05
Castles in Spain
Not a lot to say on the first day of a long weekend. Decided I needed a day to rest and to work through all those sale flyers. A lot of good ideas came about quick and efficient, affordable ways to get my home at least back up and in running condition. Not pretty, but that is for when I pay off my loan, right? Deconstructing the house has increased the amount of visits from my sons lately and that is entertaining. Something about males and power tools ripping through old building material I think. It excites them. Better than going out and playing in the traffic though.

My neighbour from across the street and I were laughing about that gender thang the other afternoon. She started the conversation a bit awkwardly about men and their "ways". I think she was trying to reassure me though. We had been talking about the bad neighbour and how nervous he made me earlier in the week. She said her hubby had a way of dealing with that behaviour. I allowed that given the height and width of shoulder on the man, that anyone who took him on might be considered an idiot. I certainly would never choose to cross him on purpose, was my comment. I think she must have repeated that to him and there might have been a decision to make certain that I wouldn't be afraid to approach them for help should I need it.

There was this article about proper social ettiquette for Muslims that I found really fascinating - not bad advice for anyone really. Or one could learn Victorian ettiquette from this little vignette played out in our own official lotusland. Warning - double entendre. More stories too on helping one's neighbours - whether students, homeowners or fellow travellers. Tips on surviving natural disasters or global warming seems timely too.

I was showing my youngest son the real estate section of the paper today. What I wanted - that castle in Scotland. He snorted and asked me if I knew how much the electricity bill would be per month. Who raised this kid? He noted that only the European royals and Mick Jagger had their own palaces but that's not so. JK Rowling has a manor home in Scotland too and I think I read that Sting had at least a country manor somewhere in the South of England with the late great George Harrison as a fellow member of the new gentry. I don't want the fame just the ambience and the romance a la William Wallace. And we haven't even considered the palaces of Asia. Besides I think it would be a fine way to look after our cats - they already believe that they are royalty.

Anyway time to go help said youngest measure twice so we only have to cut once. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats