Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

03:35 - 28.08.05
Reductio ad absurdum
A day of rest today mostly dear diary. I went and picked up groceries and mail in the afternoon. That was the biggest task I had set for myself. Watched "Shall We Dance" as one treat to myself. Very well done with a lot of lessons packed into it without being preachy. Subtle - right mind, right action. I especially liked the way Susan Sarandon's character was developed through out the film and thought the development of some of the minor characters' roles were excellent too. Well done.

This article about bobsledding Hawaiian style was entertaining. The Disney movie "Cool Runnings" about the Jamaican bobsledders who competed at the Winter Olympics in Calgary came to mind as I read it. That brought back a lot of fond memories of that event. The Jamaicans quickly became heroes here because of their grit, determination and lack of regard for the odds or their personal safety. It is how Calgarians like to see themselves, although what is said and what is done are often two very different stories. At least in that instance we were true to ourselves. This little itm caught my eye too. It is very Canadian in terms of it's sense of the absurd. There is a reason the British deported some of our forebears as soon as they found a safe place to send them. No repect for the privileges of birth or "class", eh?

That's all from this corner of the world today. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats