Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

21:38 - 25.08.05
Busy ness
The south side of our office tower has been closed off for renovations. New route to work. This morning I bumped into one of the supervisors I like. She was really excited. You see one of the really popular stars from Europe, Andre Rieu, is giving a concert here in early December. She was born and raised in France - still has that beautiful accent - so European performers still are her favorites. The concert manager had only booked half of the venue for M Rieu's concert and those tickets sold out the first day. A lot of European immigrants here. In Europe he can draw crowds of 50,000. Apparently his popularity is pretty substantial here too.

I spent the morning in classes learning about the software features that are being provided to us when the new software platform is installed within the next couple of weeks. I like the graphics and editing upgrades. Almost everything I know about computer use I've learned on the job. It felt strange to be told to just spend a morning learning. Usually, in consulting jobs, one is just given a task and then told to make it work by deadline. Any learning that occurs is deemed the responsibility of the contractor. This felt really luxurious in comparison. Have I mentioned how much I like this company. When the tech fixed my computer the other day, he made certain the cd player and the headphone jack were operational. That is great because it means I don't have to buy a big packet of batteries for my diskman every few days. The sound seems better too - and louder. I was listening to a BB King and Tracy Chapman duet and it felt as though the music was travelling through the soles of my feet and out my toes too. Sensual feeling.

Visited with my chiropractor a bit about search and rescue missions. A couple of small airplanes have gone missing in the mountains this past week. He has trained aa a spotter, but said there seemed to be a lot of volunteers available for that right now. Still summer holidays - makes sense. He talked about the difficulty of seeing anything in that terrain. Vast canopies of trees, steep walled chasms, sheer scree covered rockface sliding into white water streams. I wondered why the teams wouldn't take advantage of all the infrared satellites orbiting the earth. Infrared technology is so precise it has been used by agencies to monitor what goes on in a specific residence. My chiropractor wasn't sure of that answer, but I think he said he'd try to research it a bit. After work I headed off to a little bistro tucked away in one of the plus fifteen walkways. My sister's sister in law is returning to house sit on that island off Vancouver in a week or two, so whe wanted to get together to take a peek at our astrological charts. Since so much seems similar about our summers we were hoping that maybe there would be a brak or some good news for a change. Money coming in to our lives would be good too. Got too busy talking about the world situation to follow through though. Venting is good too though, but now I think I need to sleep on some of what was said. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats