Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

01:43 - 21.08.05
Archetypes
Quite some time ago I bought a book that is a self study guide to archetypes. I think it was one of the ones I picked when I used my Christmas gift card. The purpose of the book is to determine how they operate or relate in one's own life. Part of the work is colouring the pictures of the different beings and meditating on the source myths that inform them. Definitely very eurocentric, but that is where my forebears came from, so not a bad choice for the work I want to do right now. I had intended to spend the time on bus and train trips to work through the book but second thoughts arose immediately. Too many interruptions, too bumpy a ride and too many people who might find it made them uncomfortable. Since a significant part of the work is to meditate on each archetype, the disharmony and disruptions would reduce the effectiveness of the exercise.

Today I finally started with them. It might be coincidence but the moon was full in Aquarius yesterday moving in to Pisces today the home of my natal moon. The Sabian symbol for me is "A master teaching his disciple". Anyway the three archetypes I worked with today were The Fool (Innocent), The Magician, and the Empress. The fool evoked some interesting reactions in me. First thing I needed to do was draw in the breastbone (sternum) and the bottom of the ribcage. Don't understand that but it was a compulsion I chose to honour. The fool in this picture is dressed in animal skins. The upper body had a feline covering - it seemed to be lynx fur. The lower body was covered in what seemed to me to be a canine fur, probably wolf. Around the fool's waist were two belts of fur which I deemed to be sable and ermine. When I began the exercise I had no conscious plan for colouring. I just picked up the pencil crayon that seemed right and coloured what ever part of the picture that was standing out at the time. The complexity of the the colouring surprised me, as did the energy that was surfacing from somewhere deep within. That Pluto on the ascendant maybe. A very interesting process for certain.

Right now I think that I'm going to crawl into bed though. It was very hot today so a lot of energy was sapped from the body. I did manage to get dishes, laundry, and litter boxes dealt with, but made no headway on the deconstruction of the house. Not any big things left to tear out but all the details take as much time. Tomorrow is supposed to be even hotter so I don't think I'm going to be much more successful at getting motivated to do it than I was today. Maybe that was meant to be. Who knows. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats