Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:48 - 07.08.05
Update
My oldest two sons, and my youngest and I, worked very late into the early morning stripping rooms down, carrying things out to the bin. It was still extra hot out, in the high '80's F/near 30 C, so everything seemed all that much harder. The neighbours laid low, except for when people stopped by at their yard sale. The one that they've been running for three full weekends now. They have left all the goods spread out across their yard in between, just covering them up when rain threatened. Means I haven't been able to water our yard, for fear of them accusing me of damaging their sale items. My grass is beginning to look more like hay ready for harvesting rather than a nice lawn.

If the line of credit is approved, I guess it won't be too bad. I can have some extra loam trucked in and the turf can be babied. The bank manager had given me a definite yes on Thursday, then backed off on Friday. The agency I work through was asked for confirmation of when I had begun with them and my rate of pay. What was sent back was the termination date of the original contract and a request for him to call the owner of the business for further information. Great. Firstly, that owner can't disclose anything about me under the privacy laws we have, that would be pertinent to this application. The law states that the information can only be used for the purpose it was originally collected and that any other disclosure must have my signed consent, after being told what and how that information is to be used. Hmmmm. If what she wants to tell him is of some positive development that she can't disclose to me yet - say an offer of permanent employment and even maybe a raise - greedy aren't I, but it is my pipe dream after all - then that is fine. In the meantime, it means I rewrite my resume so it is chronological instead of by discipline, so that I can provide it to the bank manager. The proof I need to provide, is that of a steady work history. I realize there are a few gaps, but at least there won't be any way to impute that I sit back on welfare or any other form of support instead of working to pay my bills on my own.

What it has done in the interim is stopped the process dead in it's tracks for the moment. I really would like to have the roof redone, a complete fence built, and the outside of the house completely secured before too much longer. The psychological effect of a barrier to the neighbours would make a great deal of difference to me. The inside of the house does not look very nice right now, torn up as it is. However, if all the extra items that have been stored forever can be removed or taken to the dump, then at least there will be a sense of spaciousness about the living quarters. Number four son came by and took one full truckload to his new place and promised to return for the second load soon. That emptying out and stripping down of everything, will help me psychologically. It's just the right time.

At the same time, I am having to work with my assistant and my financial officer from the election to try to respond to the nasty letter I got from the "number two" person just transferred out of Elections Canada. If we don't respond that is what will be left on our files, rather than the truth of the matter. When I spoke with my assistant, she said she had purged all her emails and notes about the finaicial issues once she received her tax documents in February. She was really incensed that EC would wait until now to make such misstatements. I agreed, but pointed out it appeared to be an act of malice by someone leaving the fold. It was always his way of bullying. Hit someone out of left field with unprovable allegations, hoping that the other person had tossed all their paperwork. I told her I always keep mine for as long as a decade. That's why there is so much paper stored in my home. Just what I require to protect myself and my staff from such abuse. I kept all our e-correspondence, of course, and had managed to salvage almost all the emails that somehow were wiped out of my personal email account from March to October last year. I forwarded all those on to her, so she could reconstruct what she had said and done as well as who she had spoken with during the time we were still trying to complete our duties. I explained the other reason this guy waited so long was that, like us, most of the staff at Elections Canada are contract. He waits until the ones who could verify our account of events are terminated, so there is no living historical record either. Just a jerk.

My youngest is about to go spend time with his Dad, so I guess I'd better go finish making his lunch for him. He is very stressed about all the changes to his environment - the only one he has ever known - and it is beginning to show. Breaks in the action are good. Gym for him tomorrow should burn off some more testosterone too.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats