Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:12 - 01.08.05
heat wave too
It was a holiday here in Canada today - Heritage Day. Still too hot to move so we didn't just tried to stay as comfortable as was possible. Number two son stopped by just after lunch as I was putting the last of the groceries away. The walk just over to the grocery store had wiped out all the energy I had. I tried carrying more of the bit of the house out to the garbage bin at about that time, but the one neighbour still was heckling me every time I go near him. Don't know what his problem is, but he seems to have very little control over his temper. Even his "friends" have to keep cautioning him to calm down and quit picking fights. Maybe if he didn't drink so much his behaviour would improve. When I told my son about the harrassment and the anger that we were hearing expressed over lack of access to space in the garbage bin, he went out back with me where the mouthy neighbour was holding forth. We talked about the amount of work left to do inside the house so that his friends could hear the other side of the tale. I think my sons feel that the fellow just sees me as a female on her own who can be bullied because she has "no defender". I've asked them to ignore him - no response at all. He obviously will do just about anything to create conflict and the only way to stop him is to act as though we can't see or hear him. Eventually he will give up.

I started a spreadsheet listing all the things that need renovation in the house, breaking each area down by item. Put in the costs for each item from one sales flyer we got with our newspaper. I've asked my youngest to go online to the different hardware/building supply stores here and fill in their prices as well. As more flyers arrive those prices can be entered too. After we do a comparison of a half dozen places or so we should be able to save some money by knowing both costs and quality of materials. With it being end of summer building season we may be able to pick up some bargians and we may also be able to pick up some thing through surplus sales. At least I hope so.

Not much else to say today too tired. It is supposed to be much cooler tomorrow so maybe some energy will return with the work week. Hope so.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats