Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

18:55 - 29.07.05
Grateful.
I was doing a "counting your blessings" day today. Best part is number two son taking the lead to help me dig out from 26 years of accummulated possessions, not to mention more cats than we can accommodate. He took two days off of his vacation time this week and organized the walk in garbage tote service as well. It has been filled completely once - 30 cubic meters - with the parts of the demolished rooms downstairs and the old furniture and mementos from our past as a family together. The company is supposed to come by tomorrow to haul it to the dump, then bring it back so it can be refilled with things left over. I have wanted to strip this house down to the bare walls for a long time now, but for every two bags of garbage I put out for pick up, it seemed three were added to the collection in the house, even after the boys started moving out. Free storage I think it's called. Elections Canada has helped with that, since I store so much of that material too. Time to find other ways to deal with that I think.

To continue, number six son came straight from his two fulltime jobs and gave me six hours of his time to sift through all the paperwork I had built up around all the volunteer work as well as the boys' school days too. He also brought equipment from the one place he works to help air the house and shred all that paper. No identity theft for me or any of the people I worked with all those years. Number four son is really busy with work, but he's come by a couple of times with extra cash to put toward the cost of doing all this work in one go. I was wondering how I was going to cover the mortgage payment due Monday. He handed me the part of the payment I was missing, when I arrived home from work today. Number three son and his girlfriend have offered to help find homes for the cats. If they do that, one of our saddest tasks will be done, but it will make the cats happy because they will have their very own homes to themselves. They are a lot like humans in that, being the center of attention is much preferred to being part of a large family grouping. At least most cats and humans are like that. My youngest has tried hard to help all along. His one weakness is in organizing things in a logical sequence, then following through. That is a skill learned over time, so I am hoping that the opportunity to observe his brothers closely for a bit will help with that. I think I'll wite more later, but I need to go rescue supper from said cats. Talk with you later dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats