Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

21:25 - 27.07.05
Stormy Weather
I guess we don't have to leave our own country to find third world behaviour sometimes. This article about a Returning Officer in our northern territories hit close to home - and yes there are people and organizations who think harassing us is a right. I think there must be something in the water in that area right now though with the use or threat of violence being a first resort. Since when have Canadians and Danes been people of aggression. I think Greenland's proposed diplomatic solution. A Battle of the Bands works for me. "Station!" (Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure)

For those who are travellers at heart, the conclusion of the solar car race from Austin Texas to Calgary ended today with the University of Michigan/Minnesota (started with "M") the winner. We had a severe weather warning last night with fabulous lightning displays for about half an hour but I'm not certain what kind of winds would be needed to "blow me to Bermuda". Or not.

As for the X-files and other strange things there are the Sasquatch and giant bugs.

The train was nearly deserted both coming and going to work today. I was travelling with one of the neighbours this morning and it was really making her uneasy. We discussed the bombings in London and the fundamentalism that generates such mindless violence against the workers of the world. That slid in to language wars. The snobbery around accents or turns of phrases. I was telling her my tales of supplying mandatory service in French for election work and how the majority of the people I serve are either L'Acadie or from Asia or Africa. Very few Parisians or Quebecois in comparison. Then we got on to the British attitude towards North American Anglophones. If they can't place our place of birth/residence by our accent, how does that make us lesser beings than them. See how silly it is and what a waste of energy. Their loss I think.

At work today? Arrived to find that my computer still didn't connect with the intranet or internet either. I'm beginning to think maybe there was a need for me to be at my supervisor's computer station for a while - some co-workers made a very big deal about it. Alternately that my computer needed to be kept offline for a while. Something just didn't sit right. Another full morning of males clustered around our work area. The head of the team that looks after all the staff moves is quite the flirt. He seems to be about the same age as most of us since his stories about childhood exploits included stories of the "Friendly Giant" - "look waaaaay up" - and the "Polka Dot Door". My sons will be rolling their eyes if they opt to read this post, being of the "Buckshot and Benny the Bear" or "Sesame Street" era. The team lead even had the perfumed co-worker eating out of his hand. At one point he was talking to her as I went by and noted that as a true Scots male he loved women's hair - the longer the better. It is almost as though he has read my posts to you, dear diary. First with the talk about near death experiences yesterday, then the fact he was born in Glasgow, just like my grandmother, and actually has and wears a kilt, forbye? You well know how I feel about men in kilts, dear diary - makes my knees weak. Still I'm not going to be brought to eat out of anyone's hand again. Never Again by Nickelback being more my thoughts on the subject. When he was telling me how the near death experience had ended his business and his marriage, he mentioned that he had become agnostic as a result. I countered that I shuddered at the thought of sharing heaven with a lot of the people from a number of faiths, who claim first dibs on their version of it. They're welcome to sole occupancy as far as I'm concerned. I said my idea of heaven was just me and the cats - and maybe my sons, thinking it would depend on the type of nursing home they choose for me down the road. The cats thing scared him off. Maybe I should bring in a group photo, eh? But then again as I noted earlier, he flirts with everyone, so I think it is just a form of amusement for him.

Just before lunch I got a call from one of the women from the dance class on the company play day. Maybe it was the really positive article highlighting the studio's services in the newpaper last week that prompted her - I don't know. She had problems with her knees and we discussed her problems at some length then and since. She was asking if I had any local resources she could go to for help. Her one knee had really flared up and her own GP was being less than helpful. She came and borrowed my brace. I keep it with me for the fire drills - all that stair climbing you know - for the short term. As it was I skipped yoga at lunch for similar reasons. My joints were really sore and the asthma was acting up in full. Since a number of other people with joint issues were complaining I took it to indicate a major weather change or storm heading our way. None so far though. Anyway the cats are restless too so I think I'll go do the laundry and batten down the hatches for th night. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats