Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:49 - 27.07.05
Two jobs
Short entry tonight, I think. Missed the bus this morning. Mr Mercury for sure. Had an appointment with the banker at 8:30, but I skipped lunch yesterday so I still had enough banked time for it. Discussion was about a line of credit, so I can at least fix the basics in my home. You know replace some window screens, some floors and cabinets as well as a few doors. After 26 years of occupation that isn't too bad, is it? Number two son thinks the plumbing needs to be redone and he may be right too.The banker seemd fine with things - except for me changing agencies a few months ago. Wants my tax documents as a result. I explained about managing to raise six sons, pay off the debts run up by their father as well as pay off the bill for my divorce. I have no debt other than the last couple of years on the mortgage plus some - more than I want - balance on my charge card. I think I'm a better risk than most people are given all that, but those aren't the factors necessarily assessed. I got a we'll see what we can do response. Mercury retrograde.

Back at work an email from the Texas office staff. More questions. I had to set a few assumptions right since the questions weren't answerable the way they were posed. I was thinking of the solar car race from Austin to Calgary and wondering if any of the people in this company in Texas are involved. The race arrives and finishes in our city tomorrow and there seems to be quite a lot of excitement about it. Good thing I think.

Lunch time was spent with my friend from the Middle East. She and her hubby are leaving tomorrow, so I was truly grateful she was able to fit me in to their hectic schedule. She seemed to be very interested in my plans for the future. She and her hubby are thinking that it's time to move someplace safer as well. Yes! We got to talking about the fire drills - or lack thereof - in the building where I work. In the school where she teaches there are four different drills based on very different scenarios. She joked a bit about the terrorist drill, and I guess that isn't unlike hospital humour - something I used to enjoy - but it still made me a bit queasy thinking about the repercussions. We talked politics of course, then an hour and a half had disappeared.

Returned to work to find several males clustered around my workstation. Oi, the one time I overstay a break. The schedule was for them to reconfigure the work area. It took all afternoon, but the only difference I could see was that the partitions are lower. Great. Spent the afternoon working on my supervisor's computer, since she is on holidays. At one point I came across some records that had been coded incorrectly on a day when I was absent with pneumonia. I may have been hallucinating at times, but I know I didn't work on those records. They are for an area and subject that fascinate me you see. I showed them to the second in command and she confirmed that there had been evidence of someone hacking in to my work and changing it - that was why the changes were made to the directory and passwords. Phew, not as crazy as I thought.

Got home to find numbers two and six sons dismantling that one room downstairs. They had removed every lick of material stored in the basement. 26 years of collected treasure. I think that was a good move - opening up all that space. Hanging on too tightly to the past just means there is no room for the future to arrive. Walk on. Besides it is supposed to be a good feng shui practice - right? The three of us continued working until just before I started writing to you dear diary and I am beat. Good night.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats