Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:35 - 19.07.05
Miracles
Quiet ride in to work today. I got down to the last few pages in my book about the Dalai Lama's youth. He has just escaped from the Chinese government in the book. It would be wonderful if he could find a way to go safely back home now - 45 years later. I am guessing though that he would become a prisoner in his own land just as Nelson Mandela was in South Africa and Aung San Suu Kyi is now in Myanmar. Tomorrow I think I'll stat in on the Mabingion. Source book for Celtic mythology that lives on in such stories as those of King Arthur and the Tales of Prydain (Black Cauldron) right through to the tales of Narnia, the Lord of the Rings and now Harry Potter. None of those books are exact in their presentation but the themes that inform them are.

Work was also quiet. My supervisor emailed me to let me know I was now to submit my reports to the company intranet rather than her so others could also read them as they saw fit. Fine. A department meeting in the afternoon had the theme of "safety" and then just the round table on the progress of different projects. My walking buddy popped in about 9 to pick up some files and we caught up on each other's news. At lunch I walked the 10 blocks over to the Folk Festival office to pick up the two Sunday tickets I had bought over a month ago. The place was jammed with other people all wanting to purchase their tickets now. Good thing. It looks like the weather will even co-operate. I had thought my youngest wanted to go with me but I got that "well if you can't find any one else to go" response that is normal in teens. Paddling along behind mom is a bit of a downer I guess.

On the way home tonight caught the bus with the neighbour from across the street again. We just expanded a bit on what we had witnessed with the other neighbours. Speculated about whether it was likely that the ones on the west would move any time soon, just so we can have a respite. They have watched the violence and the partying with great concern too. When we arrived at our street we both tensed up a bit. Ond police cruiser and one supervisor's van. No sirens. Usually means robbery in progress. My nerves were really jangling at that point thinking I really didn't want to deal with any more conflict next door on either side but it appeared that the police were going in the other direction. Not fun having to go home and lock one's self in. Oh well, they say miracles do happen so one never knows. Truthfully the one I want most right now is to find homes for all our felines. Wonder if Colorado would consider adopting some domestic cats along with those Canadian lynxes. Never know do you?

In the inbox tonight a note from Election Canada talking about an assignment starting in the early fall. Uh huh. Might even catch up some of the lost wages from the pneumonia and be able to finish paying down the last of the bills - just in time for Christmas. Oh well why else would one work? Sad news was Eminem announcing he was going to quit being a rapper. Lost voice but maybe not. As a producer maybe other ways of getting a message across will come. Just a bit of jealousy on my part too when I heard that one of the small towns south of here gets Robin Williams to themselves. They're even having a special day of celebration for him next week. Sounds like good summer time fun to me. Anyway time to go cuddle cats since my youngest is too cranky right now for such things. The heat and the stress from the past month is really starting to bother him too.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats