Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:11 - 16.07.05
Princes and Raj's
I got a paycheque on Thursday, so I followed through and bought an ionizing air purifier on Friday after work. Carried it home with me on the train, then the bus. A young guy about my sons'age seemed to take great interest in that. He waited for me to pass through the doors as I exited the train, then walked beside me to also open the door in to the station. Walked beside me up the stairs and then went ahead to open the door to the overpass leading to the bus loops. It was very thoughtful of him, but I also didn't feel all that comfortable about it either. I really don't like to be the focus of any one's attention - especially some one who I don't know at all. Flying below the radar most times - that's me. As I've mentioned many times, trouble seems to seek me out so I don't give any more opportunities than necessary to it.

I had been near to passing out at work several times during the day. The one supervisor I like noticed and speculated that it might be because my workstation seems to be situated directly under one of the coldest air registers on the floor. Yesterday I was shivering, even when I pulled my shawl on for extra insulation. The temperature controls are right next to the worker who switched places with me a while ago. I suppose I could ask her to turn them up, but maybe someone else has asked that they be kept as cool as possible. It is easier for me to add layers of clothes than for someone else to try and cope with feeling too hot all the time. In the assignment last fall that room I worked in was always incredibly hot and stuffy. I'd much rather try to cope with the current circumstances. Got to learn not to succumb to hypothermic conditions though, I don't think I can bill for sleeping at my workstation. Could also be that I am still not really recovered from the pneumonia. Or I could be fighting the next invasion of germs. The young woman who I caught it from to begin with has been missing a lot of time the last couple of weeks because she has recaught it herself. A couple of the other coworkers are showing signs of having it too. My biggest fear, when purchasing the unit to take home was that I would fall asleep and lose it somehow, it hadn't crossed my mind the big challenge would be dealing with the unwanted attention I got instead.

I spent today mostly cleaning up after setting up the unit and trying it in different locations to find the most effctive placement. Did a lot of paperwork while watching "Bride and Prejudice" - twice. It is a Bollywood take off of the literary classic Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. It was truly entertaining. I love East Indian clothes - the colours, the cuts on the fabric and the fabrics themselves. The music was great too. It was a fusion of East Indian rhythms intertwined with hip hop and Motown. The night club scene featured a performance by Ashanti. The Motown number - "to have a life, need wife" was reminiscent of the song "Matchmaker" in Fiddler on the Roof" only with the trenchant and slightly naughty humour that seems to be a major aspect of the Asian productions. A lot of double entendres mixed in the dialogue in both languages - English and Punjabi. Most of all I loved the choreography and the energy of the musical. The dances with the percussion batons were fascinating because the pattern of the dance was dictated by the patterns of interaction of the dancers as the used each others' batons in a similar way to callers at a square dance. Allemande left and promenade.

The new Harry Potter book arrived at my door, courtesy of Canada Post, at 4 pm on the dot. I'm about 2/3 complete and it is a page turner for sure. I think, with all due respect and affection, dear diary, that I will return to that now so I can finish it off tonight. That way I can go back to concentrating on housework tomorrow. Good night.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats