Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

23:52 - 09.07.05
Heritage
Quiet day today. I received an email from the humane society last night. they've changed their minds again. After I responded to their questions about how to adopt our cats out their response was could I please keep them and try to find homes for them myself. Their shelter is overflowing and they are having trouble with stopping the spread of a severe respiratory infection among their cats. Wasn't that what I was doing to begin with? There was a comment that was slipped in that might explain the source of the original problem. The administrator said that the original information they had been given to go on - the complaint - had been quite misleading. Uh huh. Apparently the Humane society and I are not the only ones with that same issue of too many kittens either. I wonder if that birth control prescription is available for use in Canada. Other news of an faunal nature the problems with US cattle and New Zealand's response to Canadian ranchers.

More thoughts on the bombing in London.I have neighbours and friends who are Muslim. They are kind people and good contributing citizens both. Like all ethnic groups and all cultures they have their share of bad apples. Individuals who live hate_filled and ignorant lives, despite good role modelling from their peers. In cases like that I think that the only people that might have any chance of getting through to them are those of their own background or faith.

I talked with my oldest son last night. He was injured in an industrial accident about three weeks ago. On Workman's compensation for two weeks and just back to his worksite last week on restircted duties. He is one of the boys working two jobs just to pay the bills so it is another step back for him. The workers compensation helps of course, but it doesn't account for the loss of income from two jobs even though my son couldn't attend either for the term of the short term disability. Damaged ribs you see, but he says he feels better now. That is one good thing. Number three son - the other son with two jobs - dropped by this afternoon. I had just finished reading the information on another prairie settlers and historians site. One for an area of Alberta that I hadn't known accepted some of my Dad's family as citizens at the turn of the century. There was even a couple of photos of the wagon train that had started in Nebraska and ended up in Mirror Alberta. Free land - 160 acres - was the draw I guess.
After he wandered off to pick up his girlfriend I went back and spent the balance of the evening looking for family data on different sites including the site for UK service records to see if I could track down my Uncle's vital statistics for the one cousin who would like to reclaim his US heritage. Think it's time for bed now though. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats