Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

21:39 - 06.07.05
Pigs fly
Happy 70th birthday Dalai Lama. Many more. Maybe his gift was the release of political prisoners in Myanmar. There was no mention if Nobel peace prize winner Aung San Suu Kyi, who just celebrated her 60th birthday, was among those let go. One can only hope.

I couldn't get on to the "new entry" part of Diaryland last night. Must have been that new moon - new thoughts and seeds to plant. Sorry about that.

Caught the earliest bus again yesterday and met another friend I have't seen for a while. She's in the finance industry. We talked about our work a bit, exchanging the news. Then she spoke about her son and the worries she has about him living in a modern day frontier town. A lot of the social and environmental issues are a result of unfettered economic development in the region. It is important to create wealth to sustain a community, but when those very activities destroy the people and community they invade, what and who is really served. We also talked about shoes. Feet are important too.

The morning started out oddly. First thing when I entered the kitchen, it was obvious no coffee had been started. Oh no - the office drone's worst nightmare. Bodies function because of the blood pulsing through the veins, but we proles function only when that first caffeine hit is acheived. As I was working to resolve that knotty issue, one of the women I really enjoy working with arrived for the day. We chatted as I filled filters and washed out old mouldy coffee grounds. She asked me if Fred, the ghost, had been mischievious lately. I said he had been playing with the settings on my cell phone again and scrolling through the contact list - all my family - several times in the past week or two. He has also been smearing something on some of my CDs, even though they are locked up when I leave at night. Just commenting on my choice of music, I guess. Maybe the vibrations from some of the songs, that don't play now, are like fingernails on a chalkboard to his plasmic self. Don't know. We talked a bit more about strange behaviour that we had both experienced from co-workers at different jobs as the coffee was just coming to the ready. She mentioned she hoped this batch would work better than the day before's did. She said she kept feeling like she was going to pass out and I commented that I had felt that way too. We speculated about the weather patterns being the issue, but maybe not. This story about another work place where tranquillizers were being put in several workers' food or drink making them both sick and tired, gives pause for thought. See we're not crazy - we're being drugged. She asked if I had told my supervisor about any of the more recent episodes. I said no - that I didn't want her to think I was nuts or paranoid. As it is, I've caused enough of an inconvenience to her by being ill and needing the fan and air conditions monitored. I don't want to cause her any more problems when there really isn't any proof other than my own say so. Besides, how does one discipline a ghost anyway.

Got to my desk and found that an email had arrived from my supervisor while I was doing KP. Change of passwords on the database I'm working on, resulting in severely restricted access for most other users. Maybe she does know about Fred after all. She came by a little later to follow up on some questions I had emailed to her before my coffee duties. She didn't say much about the reasons for the change, but it follows on the heels of changing the drive where my access log was kept. Hmmmm. We sometimes talk about her experiences in Africa and Asia. Yesterday, she made a reference to a faith system of an Asian persuasion and it's canon. I allowed that the deity she referenced was one of my favorites. I love dancing the creation with Her in my mind, when I'm doing my exercises. Takes my focus off the pain in the body, don't you know. My supervisor laughed and noted that I live in my own little world quite happily. I agreed whole heartedly. Being both Aquarians, with very different experiences than most of our co-workers, I don't think that she sees strange or different as a bad thing. I just said I was very happy there with my sons, the books we enjoy reading out loud together and the cats. She laughed.

That seemed to be a developing theme when I popped over to the mall to see my chiropractor. There is a new dress shop one floor down from his office that is all Asian style clothing - western sizing. I had enough time to go take a good look. I found some skirts and dresses that I absolutely love. Now if only I had some money, eh? No matter, I guess. I'm still losing weight and it would be more sensible to wait until I can buy a size smaller anyway. I can fit the ladies' small clothing I have in my closet, but most of that is classically tailored meaning that the waist bands are still an issue. Maybe in another month or two though. My chiropractor was in an upbeat mood and that was good. We talked about the mosquitos and other out door stuff since that is what he and his family seem most to enjoy doing together. Mountaineers they are. The issue of repellants came up and the use of natural products. He favours citronella, while I favour eucalyptus oil. Each to their own. I think last week I was just being extra sensitive to his comments about odors. His influence in my life is great, because he helps me so much with pain management always respecting my take on what is happening with my body. His opinions, therefore, carry a lot of weight with me.

On the way home I stopped in to my regular grocery store. Hadn't been there for a long while, because all I could handle during the illness was a trip to the computer to order on line. It seemed everywhere I went the staff were commenting that they had missed my presence. How flattering is that? I had to get my inhaler out in the cleaning products section of the store. Asthma flared up. One of the really tall managers came swooping up asking if I was all right and if I needed help, not pointing to the goods for sale, but to my inhaler. I thanked him for asking, but said I was fine. Chatted with the cashier about different remedies for infestations of ants. She thought I had bought the big box of borax for that. Umm yes. I actually had bought it for laundry, but our yard is totally underpinned by ant hills now. That was evident when I mowed the lawn on the weekend. On second thought, maybe I will use it for that. I can use vinegar in the wash instead I guess. Hard water stains do come out with that too.

This morning I was running a few minutes late - missed the first bus. Next one doesn't come for nearly 20 minutes, so I headed for the bus stops about two blocks away on the major artery round here. 8 busses to choose from there. Caught one of those within a minute of arriving, so I still arrived at work about the same time. Bonus. Visit from my walking buddy not long in to the morning. She wanted to know how the cat/neighbour problem was going. At that point nothing had changed. She was all excited, because her brother has returned with his new wife and son. They met and married in Asia. She is finding the Canadian climate and customs really overwhelming I think. Her husband is making certain she is only experiencing as much as she can take in at one time. I think my walking buddy would like a more intense relationship with her new inlaw and nephew, but that wil come in time. Parka first - cuddles later. Priorities right?

The perfumed worker and her ally were back for the first time in about a week. The ally was very friendly and upbeat, but the perfumed woman wouldn't look at me or respond to anything I said. She looked upset all day. At one point in the morning the batteries in my diskman ran out, so I tried switching my CD in to the player in the computer. Plugged in my headphones and let Destiny's Child fill my head. Apparently it filled the rest of the work area too. Headphone jack doesn't work. The supervisor of the two popped her head round the corner and said she was really enjoying the music. She laughed and wandered back to work. The other two in that work area were chuckling at my faux pas too, but not the perfumed one. Oh well. So much for my inadvertent attempt at being class clown. Headed off to yoga at lunch and had a great session. Good thing. Returned to find another email from my supervisor. The Texans want a breakdown on some of the statistics that haven't been collected or reported yet. Could I have that done by tomorrow - Friday at latest. Well yes, I've gone through about 15,000 records. I can break them down by category or by department in that time. Mixing the two together? Might be a little more challenging, but I like puzzles - right? Om mane padme hum.

At home an email from the animal shelter commenting on strategies for how to find homes for all our cats. Much more to my liking. Given their society's condemnation of the death of 9 horses during a trail ride meant to start off the Stampede celebrations and their calls for boycotts, it made no sense for them to then turn around and insist on euthanizing our cats when I am willing to keep them until someone wants to take them in to their own families. That decision not to kill our cats must have been relayed to the neighbours in the illegal suites next door. They apparently are very angry. They were threatening and cat-calling when my youngest was looking after the ones in my bedroom. I was reading the newspaper when he came to tell me about what they had said. I pointed to the photos in the one story I just happened to be reading then. If the one's mustache and hair was shaved, it would look very much like the basement suite neighbour. Newly released sex offender. Hope not. Could explain why that family and the one upstairs never show their faces though. The other photo was of a violent offender just released and known to be in Calgary too. I think my mind is just running away with me - right? "Paranoia strikes deep, into your mind it will creep"Was that Buffalo Springfield or Neil Young. I'll have to check. Right now I'm just going to deal with the one complaint the neighbours say they have. That being their objection to the smell of the spray the males make marking territory. I objct too for that matter. I found this recipe just developed by Merck labs, I think using a mix of horseradish, other roots and hydrogen peroxide to cut the smell that emanates from pig farms in an June_article about the issue in one of my e-newspapers. I don't know if you've ever been anywhere near a pig farm, dear diary, but some of my Dad's cousins had them on their farms. If it can eliminate those odours, then it should have this house smelling just fine after I whip up a batch here. Can't hurt to try until the patented product is available. Right? Hopefully the neighbours will go back to just hiding out instead of trying to pick fights then. We'll see.


previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats