Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

20:38 - 04.07.05
Conundrums
I decided to catch the earliest bus this morning, dear diary, both so I could get a quicker start on the day and also because of the quieter,less crowded ride. Not. When I stepped aboard there was just one seat left. Next stop, the aisles were crowded with the additional travellers. I felt a tap on my shoulder and realized that it was my walking buddy from five or six contracts ago - or two years ago, if that makes it easier. She was happy to connect again and we fell in to our old pattern of venting about work. This go round I'm still mostly pretty content, but the company we worked together for was really hard on contract workers, even though they have received innumerable awards for their treatment of employees from a number of sources. I have heard some of their permanent staff say they are very happy, but none of their consultants have ever come out with that feeling. Strange synchronicity - maybe - I saw the supervisor of the department I worked in there a couple of weeks ago. She tried to hide herself when I glanced her way. I had no intention of talking with her, so it was a moot point anyway. Mostly I just listened to my fellow ankler, letting her vent. Nothing has changed for her, but she can't afford to quit and I think she is too shy, as a new Canadian, to try other places. Very little self esteem, even though she should be very proud of her work. Technically, because she has been at this assignment for 3 years, she is considered a permanent employee by Revenue Canada (IRS en americaine) and is entitled to all the benefits arising. However, pursuing that might cost her the job and a reference too. Tough choice to make. She did note that the bus I had caught was now always very full and noisy, so I may have to rethink my strategy if peace and quiet really are that important to me. Good company might more than make up for that though, so I'll think on it a bit.

Work was quiet and steady the whole day. Summer means vacations and summer students, so the entire atmosphere in the department is different. Breathing space from each other appears to have caused detente among some of the warring factions. That and not having their regular sparring partner to go a round or two with. At lunch I went to the yoga class. I felt really edgy, although there was no need. I'm not certain what was up with that. On the weekend something strange was happening around the two chakras - solar plexus and the one just below in the reproductive part of the body. Involved the "spirit gate" in some way. All of those centres have been closed down for several years, maybe even a couple of decades now, so anything activity would be odd. There was so much activity on the Saturday that I felt as though I was going to pass out. Too much excitement. That weak in the knees thing going on. Could have been the other reason I had the weeps, I guess. Each Chakra lines up very nicely with an anatomical placement of an endocrine gland. There are eight that all doctors agree are true glands and some that are still "bones (glands) of contention". How many chakras? Depends on who you ask. Interesting. The asanas today were uncomfortable, but very good all the same. I realized that my lungs and shoulders were still really locked up from the pneumonia. The release felt like something was tearing open but not in a bad way. Ditto for the hips and the fall I had a couple of years ago. The movements were just enough to open things up, but not to reinjure. I feel quite good now, although I did have to put that knee brace on when I got home. My knee just doesn't like the "up the stairs" thang at the train station. Could be I was so immersed in the story the Dalai Lama's family was weaving about his childhood that I wasn't really paying attention to how I was stepping either. It also didn't help that I nearly had to jump out of the way of the neighbour with the gas mower's daughter barreling along on her bicycle. She and her older sister came zipping down the paved alley toward me as I was walking home from the bus. If her sister hadn't yelled when she did, I suspect I would have had more physical damage to contend with. Big bike for such a little girl.

Got home and found that the one set of neighbours were still on about the cats. I haven't heard any more from the animal shelter, even though I even offered to help do some fundraising for more space for them in exchange for some spaying or neutering of my babies. Fund-raising was one of my major activities when I was an at home mom - the park and the family counselling services, for example - so it is a proven and effective skill I already possess. I also called the neighbour whose family are ranchers, to see if any of them would be willing to board some of my babies. She was sympatheitc - I think - when I explained that I just didn't want them killed, not that I'm unwilling to find homes for them as I think is the other neighbours' perception. She acknowledged she knew that the one shelter was in crisis for space at least. She said she'd keep her ears open and that's all I can ask I guess.

Given that the neighbours on one side are living - hiding really - in the illegal baasement suite that damaged our shared wall when it was constructed in the other half of our duplex and the ones on the west side have just had their second visit in a week from the police today as I was talking with the ranching neighbour, I think they might be better served paddling their own canoes. Maybe they see picking on me as a diversionary tactic. When I opened up my email there was a note from the head of security for Elections Canada. He had read the report published about the fraud in the municipal election last October and had made some interesting comments. He repeated that he would like to talk with me in person before the next election. I was thinking after the heat wave down east and the floods here subside would be the best choice, but I didn't say so. I just commented that I was getting a persecution complex about the different neighbours' behaviours this past month, but I don't think I'm slated to testify in the criminal trial of the alleged fraudsters that is set to be heard in October. Don't see how having too many cats would be an issue with respect to the veracity of my testimony anyway. I think maybe they have too much time on their hands. Devil's tools and all that.

Anyway time to go feed the felines and think about tomorrow. At some point in time things have got to get better - right? Anyone want to adopt a cute, loving kitten - or two?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats