Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:32 - 01.07.05
Joyeux Anniversaire
Just after I wrote you last night, dear diary, I called number three son. The young woman in the department where I work who was being assigned way too much work had just broken up with her boyfriend and was musing about buying a dvd player as retail therapy. I offered to check with my guys who work in that industry, to see if they knew of any really good deals. My son was a bit distracted. He had just been in a fender bender and was waiting for a friend to arrive to help him fix the damage. Something about the steering. I'm really not up on any of that. All I wanted was reassurance that he and his girlfriend were fine. They were. I did feel his frustration though. He is one of the boys with two jobs. He is carrying that load simply to make his bill payments. One step forward, but two back. Salsa I think it's called.

Next up there was a knock at the door just before midnight. There stood one of the pizza delivery persons who used to be a regular visitor during the election. I was too overwhelmed during that time to try to cook most days. He must be the twin of John Denver - cute - although I've never asked if he can sing. He is a genuinely nice guy. Anyway he was holding two very big pizza boxes encased in one of those "warmer bags". I think I stood there with my mouth hanging open for the first bit, then I asked if I could help him with directions. He said no, that I had ordered the pizza, "how did I want to pay". I asked him to check the delivery slip, but it confirmed the address here. Well, looks as though someone thought of it as a prank. Even if I had really wanted pizza, my paycheque still hadn't arrived at work and I had no cash in the house. Sent him off with apologies. A young woman called shortly after to verify the phone number given on the order and confirm I hadn't used it. No - I even checked the redial function on our telephone to confirm that I hadn't done a "sleep walk" thing. Nope. Last time we called them was early January. The weird thing was that the person who called in, used number four son's name and identification. There are very few people in the community who would know those details and also that we were home right at that point in time, so it could be made to appear as though we had ordered something. Number four son moved in with his girlfriend on his birthday, mid-May, but still comes home frequently to see us. I called him to check if he had ordered and forgot where he nows lives. Nope.

Continued on doing housework, but the whole issue was really bugging me. Black mark on my record. Called the pizza place back and spoke with Andrew. I was speculating to him that it might have been the neighbours on the west side of my home. When I had been talking with the animal bylaw people, I had told them about the threat the one male next door had made about poisoning his wife's cat. I asked for pointers on how to deal with that without provoking a personal attack in retaliation. The first thing that came into my head with respect to the pizza prank, was they might try something like that. It really doesn't make any sense though, in that their retaliation is more likely to be in the form of the property damage they have done in the past - like kicking down the fence. Don't know.

The ride in to work this morning was crazy. I don't know where all the cars came from. As far as I knew, most people who could, were taking the day off to get a head start finding a good camping spot for the Canada Day long weekend. The queue to get on to the downtown bridges went back a long way. Maybe they were just passing though, eh. Work was very quiet and relatively scent free. When the others are there, I find I need the fan on with eucalyptus oil wafting through to help me breathe because of the chemical warfare (perfume) being waged. It was a discussion I had in passing with my chiropractor this week. At a guess, I think he must have one of the coworkers as a patient. He seemed to think it wrong that I used the eucalyptus oil, when other people were told to go easy on their use of perfume. It didn't occur to me until later to use the example of the difference between the smell of onions and the odor of a man-made perfume. It isn't the smell that bothers me - it is the mix of chemicals that make up the perfume. Some are triggeres for my asthma. The eucalyptus oil keeps my air passages open, when the receptors are swelling shut trying to protect me from the chemical agents. Hard for people to get their heads around I guess. I know whine with cheese, please.

At lunch, I wandered off with one of the other coworkers. She has really gotten the beading bug since the company play day. There is a store in one of the more interesting shopping areas, just outside of downtown, that caters to beaders and she was heading out there. I asked if I could tag along, thinking I might actually find the amber I've been searching for the past year or two. I didn't, but I did find new to me second hand bookstore. It had really interesting non mainstream books and the proprietor couldn't have been more helpful. He didn't have any of the obscure titles I am always trying to find, but he went out of his way to provide me with the tools to do a more extensive search for them. I like that.

Back at work one male wandering in just after lunch. He was looking for a book. Could he be more specific. Yes it was "this big" and had a brown cover. There were "cartoony" pictures inside. He said that book had been on the floor of the department where he works. He couldn't find it so decided to give us a try. Fine.

Anyway I'm still tired, so good night for tonight dear diary. Talk to you tomorrow. Happy 138th Birthday, Dear Canada.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats