Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:07 - 29.06.05
Four directions
Not a lot to say tonight, I'm tired. It was one of those days at work where people kept slipping off the floor in twos or threes to discuss something. All day long and after work too. When I was heading out of the main doors I noticed one of the bad supervisors trying to become inconspicuous as I approached the coffee shop where she was meeting with one of the supervisors I like. Doesn't matter to me who hangs out with who - it was the desire to hide the fact of the meeting that did.

Early today my supervisor was teling me of some additional work that had been added to the mix - confidential so she had taken the lead on the coding. I had seen some of the documents needed earlier in the project, but knew she hadn't been able to locate them because of the way the descrption was written. A very common problem with the records. No accuracy or consistency in the preparation. I did one search that turned up over 120 records. Not all of them fit the requirements but enough that it ight make a diference down the road. Or not. Just before noon my supervisor returned to my desk and asked to work on my access information for a bit. Apparently the log of my searches/interaction was pointing to the public directory and she was concerned about that. Later a followup email arrived giving more details with respect to how to check our own setup and fix the coding as necesary.

The perfumed woman and her allies were at it again today. A very controversial bill passed second reading in the House of Commons last night. AS I was switching out CDs I realized that a very loud, very contrived "discussion" of the bill was being carried on by about five of them that seemed to be aimed at making me, as a government contractor, feel guilty and responsible for the legislation being approved. There was one remark about being turned into a minority - being forced to accept minority status in one's own country. I was tempted to respectfully point out that they might learn something significant by learning to understand how they made a lot of other people feel - those very minorities who are often the focus of this same groups attacks based on their perceived unacceptable "differences". You know like colour or faith. Decided that one has to have some chance of getting through before it beomes worth the emotional abuse that is usually heaped on one when such things are pointed out.

There were mostly empty boxes of pizza in the kitchen at the end of the lunch hour, so I suspect the conversation had been carried over to the common area too. I had gone out with my walking buddy and I rarely go in the kitchen during the day so I missed any swipes that might have been sent my way otherwise. The walking buddy and I had headed for Prince's Island just to get a sense of whether the Folk Festival had a chance of being held there or not. The grounds were being pumped out as we wandered through so that doesn't seem to be an issue, but a lot of the periphery - the shores - were still underwater or seriously damaged. Worse yet there were two bridges that were washed out as well. One was still sort of in the same place but yanked out of it's moorings and tipped on it's side. One man in front of us decided to climb along the edge to the other side of what usually is just a trickling stream through that part of the park. Raging torrent flowing over and around that bridge now. There was a gentleman of Chinese heritage who was standing off to one side who appeared to be practicing Tai Chi or Chi Gong. He said he was just warming up to run and offered to carry each of us across to the other side. Several Zen parables came in to consciousness as he spoke. He was wearing black track pants but it was his shirt that caught my attention. White with gold totems on it. The largest was the whale followed by a dolphin, a turtle, an owl and I think a mouse. Mostly south facing totems. Curious.

We decided that we would just find another path, thank you very much. It was warm and sunny for the first time in weeks. The jokes about 40 days and nights of rain were starting to freak people out. That internalized message from a lot of churches that god is somehow a vindictive little, petty dictator with less sense than someone like Saddam Hussein - that's what a lot of the current old testament stories read like. It is odd that the new testament is often ignored in favour of the more brutal aspects of the old and that Paul is more often cited and quoted as being an authority on things of the spirit than is the carpenter. I am always amazed that people don't realize that. My walking buddy and I were remarking that everyone we knew seemed to be dealing with a test of the spirit right now - flooded homes, extra cats, family conflict, and on ad infinitum. I told her about that special cosmic Trine coming up on July 16. One of the planets Pluto is directly on her natal sun so she should get some relief at that point in time. Well at least one can hope right? One can't always change circumstances but they can change their attitude.

Best that I also change mine and just focus on putting one foot forward on myown path without worrying about what anyone else is choosing. or as the one lama said "whichever way it goes, let it go that way." I think that means go with the flow or "you can't push the river". Those Turtle people are so wise. Ho.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats