Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:38 - 22.06.05
Crab Grass
It was the coming full moon I think. That, or someone is slipping catnip tea into the coffee at work. Even Fred the ghost was at it. Just before noon my cell phone was switched from "silent" to "pager" and my cabinet had been unlocked overnight. Some of my CDs were covered with a substance that impaired playing them too. Sigh. Wish he'd pick on someone else.

Two of our co-workers had gone to two different beading classes on Friday. Each wore their handiwork in today for all to admire. That sparked a rivalry between them over who had the nicest beads, the best design and the best bargain for the company's money. At first, the two would just waylay anyone walking in to the kitchen demanding the victims opinion on which was better. Later they were circling the floor, one after the other going from workstation to workstation asking the same questions. Headphones on and eyes front was my motto. I did my stint of creating peace among warring fashionistas when I helped out as a volunteer in my sons' classes. When I was in junior and senior high, I spent my free time volunteering for things like library and yearbook specifically to avoid that sort of stupidity. After years of having to make do with almost nothing, I don't have a lot of patience with people who think the brand name tag on their possessions is of critical importance or actually alters their status in my eyes. I watch how people treat themselves and others. There is no other real measure of a person's value, as far as I'm concerned. If one is fortunate enough to be able to afford more than basics, then show gratitude for that privilege. I think, as a result of the floods, a lot of people in this province are learning just how much their self images and egos are attached to their possessions and how little to the things in life that are really of value.

I spent the day just coding and listening to the music that wasn't damaged. One good thing about conflict in the workplace is that it is a good excuse to force one's self just to focus on the task at hand. The loud supervisor came by this morning and gave me a humidifier for my station, while starting in again on the coworkers we have from Texas. I just commented that while their knowledge of protocols and conditions for this mountainous country might be lacking, we would be equally at sea dealing with offshore issues they must deal with since Texas actually has a coastline. Pun intended. She asked for my maiden name at that point, saying that she had asked her father if he recalled working with my father around the time of our births. He had answered in the affirmative and that seemed to improve my standing in her eyes. At the end of the day she came back to ask for my birth date. In Canada that is one of the questions that cannot be asked of staff. It's to remove the temptation to discriminate based on age. I pointed that out, but she said it was the Texans that wanted it. Poor things are getting blamed for a lot of misbehaviour lately. I asked if this was one of the companies that hires astrologers to check compatibility between staff. It was meant as a joke, but I don't think she thought I was funny. She has a sister with the same sun sign as mine and it is obvious there is intense sibling rivalry. Her first response to me when she found out was "oh no not another one - you're just like my sister". Nothing like branding and stereotyping to creat division among coworkers. The poor company keeps trying to find positive ways to build team spirit but it keeps being sabotaged by the silliness.

One of the other coworkers got squished in the rolling shelves (lundys) today, on top of everything else. Several of the rest of the staff gathered to discuss the issue - for about two hours. Yes, it is an issue for certain, but why not just put up signs right by the locks on the cabinets and have it incorporated into the safety training and policies. That coworker seemed to be having constant struggles with her computer today too. She kept coming round to ask for help for things like finding the toggle so she could send email. Just one of those days, I guess. Full moons and catnip.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats