Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

22:52 - 15.06.05
Communion
It came out accidentally when my supervisor and I were chatting at the coffee station one morning. Just the usual chit chat about families and weekends. Her family, like mine tends to incarnate, be born, in clusters. Half my family fall at the end of Taurus through to beginning Leo, while most of the rest of us fall into Sagittarius through early Aquarius. Complementary or in opposition to each other; sometimes both at the same time. Somehow the fact that I dabble in things astrological was known in the department before I arrived. It's not something I put on my resume. Not that I care what others think, but when I first arrived on the scene there was a lot of angling going on by a few of my co-workers to have charts done. I only do them when there is an intuition that it is required. In most cases, just after I do a reading, the people in question undergo major life-altering changes. Holding their chart, I have usually taken on the role of midwife to their "new life". That can be pretty intense and exhausting work. Right now I don't have the emotional energy to do it. However there has been this "pinging" at the back of my head whenever I spend time with the supervisor. I have avoided all talk of birthdays as a result. On this particular day I asked what she was doing for the weekend. She allowed that her family was having one of those group celebrations of a birthday cluster. One bit of information led to another. Finally it came out that she is an Aquarian born within a few days of me, but likely a half decade different. That I didn't ask.

That explains our relationship a lot. Sometimes there is a quiet empathy with respect to our relationship to the rest of the group. Her childhood was very unusual, as was her parents' occupation. As a result, she sees and interacts with the world in a very different way than most people in the industry we both work in. After a very long stint working in this field, she is the only other person I've met who was born in our sun sign. This is more an earth or water sign occupation. That is where the birthdays tend to predominate. Sometimes there are perspectives and thoughts I express that no one else seems to comprehend, even though I think I am expressing myself quite clearly. I have been surprised a few times when I've made one of those observations and noticed her nodding even before I finish.

That happened today. We finally had a chance to discuss the coversation I had with the one male who made the inappropriate comments when discussing the dance lessons on Friday. I had asked her how this company chooses to implement and enforce its guidelines around the issues. Because she just returned to work on Monday after a week's absence, and because our department has had so many guests to attend to, there hasn't been a opportunity to scope out some responses should this male decide to push the envelope on Friday. It is a play day, but it is also paid company time where their intent is team and morale building. I started to explain what he had said. I commented that I had responded to his hitting on me by mentioning my six sons in the next sentence. I started to explain that I could often get the measure of a male by how fast his retreat was upon receiving that information and how big the trail of dust he kicked up was as a result. She started to laugh before I got halfway through and finished the sentence for me. Sometimes I have to take a long time to explain that one to other people. Her experiences growing up in Africa made it very easy to explain in shorthand all the different aspects I was trying to hold in balance at the same time when dealing with the other issue presented. Unusual.

Today was pretty routine until the end of the day. Some residual hostility from the two allies next work space over. When I went to ask a work related question they totally ignored me for about 10 minutes while they finished telling their stories of their evenings before. Fine. I just moved on with out making an issue of it. Could have been the spilled eucalyptus oil yesterday that had made them angry, because I haven't done anything but work on my tasks otherwise.

At the end of the day, just when I had gotten into some records that were "of interest" and was trying to concentrate on unravelling the threads of implications if the documents actually are exactly what has been recorded, I realized that there was a woman standing at the end of my workstation looking very annoyed with me. I removed my headphones and gave another really good "duh" performance. The head person from Texas made a point of asking when I would be finished the first phase of the project when we talked yesterday. My supervisor had expressed the hope it could be done by the end of June. Given all the disruptions and the complexity of some of the data, that is a tight squeeze. I have been trying to push my speed up a little while not losing accuracy. The irritated woman had obviously assumed that since I was sitting at the first desk by the doors, that my job must be to act as a resource person for her. She had been assigned to do some analysis of some the data I had brought to the attention of the legal department, but she likely wasn't aware that I was the source of her assignment. I could have blown her off and told her to go find the librarian, but since I already knew some of the background I thought I might as well just answer her questions. Had second thoughts about that when she started giving me "the attitude". You know the one - you're the servant and I'm the superior. I wonder what she would have done if someone had walked into her office and demanded she drop everything she was doing under deadline, to help them with something that had nothing to do with her job. Uh huh. Being that it was the end of the day, I decided to just let it go. Could be I was just tired too. All I wanted to do at that point was dig back in to the juicy data I was looking at and still have the time to meet the deadlines my supervisors had indicated they prefer me to meet. It may have coloured my interpretation of the behaviour too. I was just happy to see the back of her, because she cost me half an hour of productive time. Just being a bag I guess.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats