Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

02:58 - 10.06.05
Frustration
I'm not feeling all that great, so this will be short dear diary. Work related I think.

This morning started like Tuesday. Problems with the database. Emailed the tech that I liked about it, since I knew the loud supervisor wouldn't be in for another hour or so. Continued reviewing legislation after setting up an options spreadsheet for participants who wanted to be in the Latin dance for play day. We still hadn't been advised how many staff or who had signed up for each option, but I wanted it ready to go out as soon as I knew. That way I can let the owner of the dance studio know for his planning purposes.

The tech I didn't care for arrived with the supervisor. I explained that I had searched the stats for each day last week on the software I use. For last week, the stats for two days were bang on, two were about 10% of what should have been recorded and one day looked fine for the am but out of whack for the afternoon. That day being the one before the two really out of kilter days. "Well you must have searched wrong". I used the same criteria and variables for all five days. "Well then you must have keyed in the dates incorrectly". I keyed those consistently for both the correct data results and the ones that only brought up 10% of the work I had done. I was able to reproduce that for him. His next assertion was "The scrambling of the records series on Tuesday and today is also normal and everything you witnessed over the last three months prior is just an anomaly. The system isn't consistent in sorting the exact same data each day" Right. The tech's final comment was that I must have done something wrong and he was too busy to discuss the issue with me anyway. Right. Then why is he working here?

Got the results of the enrollment in the play day just before noon. Sent out the spreadsheet. Received an email from one female saying that was the option she really wanted, but that she had been placed in an option in which she had no interest by the organizing committee. Could she switch? Yes of course. The chair has told me repeatedly that staff are allowed to make their own choices, but the one person's comments indicate that that isn't so. The one male designated to the course withdrew. When I said we would miss him, he responded that he just didn't think his heart would be able to take tangoing with 14 different women. Either that or his wife/partner wouldn't approve. One of the nice supervisors pulled me aside at one point during the afternoon. She pointed out that the chairperson had not put me in the dance option, even though attending the event we sponsored was one of the commitments we had to make to be allowed to sponsor. She hadn't put me in any other event either. She had put me down as being a non-participant, even though I had registered the way all sponsors were directed to do in the sign up process. When I emailed her to ask why that was, she just responded that one of the other sponsors had chosen that option. So what has that to do with me? I emailed back and requested she place me in the dance option, but I have had no response. Commenting about it with the neighbour, I noted that it seemed to me that the chair was going out of her way to try and provoke a confrontation. Doesn't make any sense at all to me.

Since those two issues dominated the day, I came home feeling quite stressed. Those blocks are ones I can't do anything about, yet the staff paid to be the trouble shooters seem to be going out of their way to create as much trouble as possible instead of resolving it. Maybe tomorrow will be better.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats