Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:27 - 25.05.05
Blessings
I caught her in the act this morning. Miss Smokey - the (sometimes) evil twin of Miss Graycie - is the culprit. Remember I've mentioned a few times, that I've set my alarm clock at night only to find that it hasn't gone off the next morning. I was waking from a dream that featured cooked rice and corn at a family celebration - maybe a wedding. The radio came on and - whooosh - Miss Smokey leapt on top of the offending item and neatly used her claws to slip the toggle from on to off. Had I not been emerging from sleep at the same time I likely wouldn't have realized the alarm had actually gone off. My youngest thought it was tremendously talented of her. I have other words for it.

Work today was steady. One weekly report and one spreadsheet that had been requested took up about two hours of my time. The batteries in my diskman had died at the end of Friday and I'd forgotten to bring in new ones. No problem, I could pick some up at noon. Forgot about the perfumed woman whose telephone is about two feet from my station. She arrived at 8 and didn't stop her personal calls until 10:30, when I was just sending off the report and the spreadsheet. Started in on my regular tasks while she engaged the other two people in our work area with commentary on her calls - even though it was impossible to not hear them - and then they discussed their long weekends. The chatter ended when the perfumed woman's phone rang once again. She turned to the one ally and said "I've got to go - SHE called and wants me to come see her for lunch." Ok fine. She spoke to the one supervisor as though she was doing her a favour by being there. I guess it's all a matter of perspective. I think I've died and gone to heaven, while she seems to think her presence should be worshipped.

I was feeling as though I was hearing as one does when one swims underwater and it felt that my movements were the same as when wading in deep water. Escaped the local melodrama by going to visit my chiropractor. Ahhh that made me feel much more grounded although the slow motion thang didn't lift until about 2 in the afternoon. One of his partners is still very ill with a respiratory infection. Because we got sick at about the same time I think my doctor was curious as to why I was recuperating so much faster. One conclusion was that maybe he was being given the wrong antobiotics. There are two main types of bacteria - those that test gram positive and those that test gram negative. Two very different courses of broad spectrum medications. The most effective way to ensure that the correct one is being addressed is to do throat swabs. Cut backs in funding in this Province means that they are rarely done any more. "Saves money" don't you know. Maybe in the short term when the doctor is guessing how to treat a patient based on how other doctors have guessed about the prevailing bacterial influx all without supporting evidence. So counting in lost time from work, lost productivity, and even lost livs how is that saving our society any money? Oh right. The rest of us don't matter as long as the Provincial government doesn't have to meet it's obligations under the Canada Health Act. You see, diagnosis is the key to being guaranteed treatment for an ailment under the act - no concrete diagnosis no right to adequate or appropriate health care. Of course there is little protection from other types of respiratory damage such as come from lead in the air we breathe. In the news another scary type of (internet) virus.

On a more positive note, Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II addressed our Provincial legislature while it was in session today. That has never been done before. It was a special gift for the province's 100th birthday. Another gift for our province's birhtday came from Mother Nature herself in the form of the birht of a white buffalo. First Nations people take that as promise of benison for the region where it occurs. All blssings are welcome. Apparently one bear felt it was his duty to add to the day's celebrations by joining the crowds in Edmonton.

Another special honour came to Canada when the US airforce included four Canadian soldiers on ther wall of honour. The last good news story of the day was how the Federal by-electionin Labrador played out. The outcome reduces the chance of another paralysis of parliament for a while. And that's the day in a nutshell.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats