Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

00:40 - 22.05.05
Community Building
I started back belly dancing again tonight. I have got to get more exercise, but right now that is all the body will allow me to do. Our one black cat, Bear, so named because he looks like one, was delighted. I've switched over from fairly fast tape I prefer, because I lent it to one of my co-workers. The tape I'm using now is the most sensual of the collection and some of the moves bring me to floor level. Said Mr Bear thinks it's fun to wrap himself around one of my legs, digging his claws and teeth in to my shins so he can stay attached. When I'm down on the floor he tries to play with my hair as it swings from one side to another. Glad someone is amused.

One of the interesting things that has been going on at work has evolved over the past few weeks. Every so often an announcement from one of the big kahunas arrives in everyone's mailbox announcing changes in the hierarchial structure of various senior management positions. Those announcements seem to be increasing in pace as time goes on. More hiring is also evident. The announcement yesterday impacts the department I work in and maybe my project directly. Two new VP positions. One gentleman from head office being sent in to optimize the value realized from underutilized assets. A mirror position created to enhance the use of some other resources owned by the company. Guess there was a need to know what's in all those stored boxes at that.

On the way home yesterday my neighbour was commenting on the action one woman took to get back at her spouse when he dissolved the marriage against her will. She used the internet as a tool. I'll leave the rest to your imagination, dear diary since I don't want to put dumb ideas in your electrons. My neighbour thought it quite funny. She noted that she thought that even though the length of the revenge was short, the woman should have derived a lot of satisfaction from making his life miserable. I responded that I wouldn't even do that to my ex. She looked shocked at my response and seemed speechless. I just expanded the thought to say that I only have so much time and energy. I refuse to waste it on someone who never deserved any of it in the first place. Why give so much power to someone who causes one pain? Tieing up one's energy in vengeance, means there is no chance of claiming one's present life let alone the future. The best revenge is to become successful and happy without them. Becoming wealthier would be nice too, but "Two Out of Three Ain't Bad" as Meatloaf would have it. It was obvious that there was no common ground between us on that issue so I just started telling her the stories I told you yesterday dear diary, so she could get her composure back.

This story about a lake completely disappearing in Russia seemed really bizarre. Apparently the town fishermen discovered it when they went out for their early morning chores. No word on where all that water went, but I think I'd want to move to firmer ground until it was located.

One story that was really heartening was this one about Bill Gates. Whatever one thinks of his business practices, one had to admire the work he and his wife undertake to improve life for the most disadvantaged citizens in this world. Building a community means including everyone regardless of the possibility that there is nothing to get back other than satisfaction in helping someone else. Too bad our society and the governments we elect don't follow his lead here and abroad. He must be doing something right to continue being so successful and it doesn't appear his generosity is diminishing his own resources in anyway. To the contrary I think. The term is stewardship and leadership. Way to go.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats