Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

21:37 - 09.05.05
Waking
I was dreaming of taveling with another person in a vehicle. At first I thought I was in a taxi and then it seemed the person was actually my chauffeur. Over time though they bacame my partner as we travelled from home to home of my clients. The last home we visited had a long winding and ascending driveway with beautiful flower beds along each side. The house was almost like a castle. The owners seemed to be Asian and wanted to me to take on some responsibilitie for their small daughter. She was a beautiful little child. Then the phone rang. There seems to be a pattern developing here.

I woke up realizing that in addition to the phone someone was knocking at the door. It was the neighbour I usually ride in to work with. I had set my alarm for this morning but it hadn't gone off. The evening before I had been talking about going in to work and hw awful I still felt so I suspect my youngest may have come and disabled it after I fell asleep. I was still having trouble and the neighbour just said she would see me tomorrow. Fair game. Called in to the one supervisor that was sitting close to my desk. My supervisor is in Chicago at a meeting so she is the contact person this week. I just said I would be absent again today. I can't keep promising to show up then not so I guess I just try to make it in tomorrow without saying so. The one walking partner emailed me this afternoon to see how I was coping. She was a bit upset that I hadn't called her to ask for help but I explained all that could be done was to take the antibiotics and sleep. Not much else will help.

There is a lot of angst right now in the city about the rate of development and the amount of road construction that will be undertaken this summer. One can't stop growth, but managing it so it provides the greatest improvement for the communities it impacts is important. At least we don't have some of the issues that the City of Iqaluit does. Snowmobiles, bears and drifting snow. Iqaluit is located in the Territory of Nunavut on the Beaufort Sea. The land of the midnight Sun. One should note it was considerably warmer in one of the other Northern cities - Whitehorse, Yukon Territories than it was here today. 20C/70+ F. The past few days have been so overcast in Calgary that some of our light activated street lights didn't even shut off yesterday. That is very odd in this city. Even when it is -30C, the sunlight is usually very bright. We don't feel it, but we know it's there. We are forecated to go to 3 C/35 F tonight, with the possibility of rain or s***. Uh huh.

I had to change the voicemail on my phone today. Too many calls from people wanting answers about the election. I don't have any nor do I have the physical stamina to be on the phone when I need to build strength before the event. Still no indication from Ottawa that anything has changed. Just a notice about our updated manuals being delivered this week. I guess that was what the notice for pickup was in my mailbox today.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats