Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:35 PM - 24.04.05
Cleaning House
When I was posting to you last night there were birds singing just out side the window. The weird thing was it waas already after midnight by quite some time yet well before dawn. What's up with that? It suddenly dawned on me (pun intended) that we were at the peak of the lunar eclipse. The reason it took so long to process? Well in all the fiction I've read the animals a ll fall silent just before the event and don't make a sound until the light is restored. I guess that's just a dramatic artifice then. Eclipses are often the deus ex machina (saving grace) of the hero in a story when the author has written a plot so convoluted that only an act of god can save them - that and the hero's knowledge of astronomical timing. See it pays to stucy the movement of the stars.

I've always wanted to build a home that was totally self contained and energy efficient. There used to be some great magazines dedicated to showing all the innovations and opportunities available to anyone who had a piece of land situated on the side of a mountain or backed into a hill, that could provide the physical setting to support the building. There are a few homes built like that outside of the city limits, but it has been an option only for those who have a lot of cash to spend on the elite technology. It appears that the tide might be turning a bit now if this article in the Seattle newspaper is any indication of progress. Energy efficiency that is adaptable to the average home. Good news although I'd still like that piece of land situated on the mountain side.

Other good news was that the trailer for the next Harry Potter movie - The Goblet of Fire" - will be aired during the debut of the "Chamber of Secrets" - book two in the series - on May 7. The other interesting piece was about the the Dutch community in Europe still honouring the actions of Canadians soldiers during World Was II - the Liberators. Our city receives an annual gift of tulips from the Netherlands in memory of our shared history. Some ties bind over a long period of time.

Not much else to say today. My yougest and I spent a lot of time cleaning up after the cats and clearing out years of collectd treasures form six boys. We went out for supper because I was too tired to cook and I though a reward was in order anyway. A bit expensive altogether but worth the price I guess. Every so often one has to find ways to celebrate one's achievements.

Any way I still don't feel all that great but there is work tomorrow and I can't afford any more lost time. So good night dear diary. Tomorrow will be better.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats