Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:44 AM - 23.04.05
Breaking Views
Well, Mother Nature has been a bit cranky here in the city lately. Or maybe she's just trying to rebalance her hormones too. There was a ring of fire around the outlying sections of town today. A dry winter leading into a drier spring, ripe for grass fires. One of the big prairie fires was just to the east of us. We wondered who lost control of their barbeque. Sirens for hours and the smell of burning was just a bit disturbing, but it's out now.

Next up were two attacks by coyotes in inner city parks on small children, who were out for a stroll with their caregivers. It appears that the critters were wandering away from the river paths, where I usually walk, looking for an easier prey than cranky adult office workers. The children were 18 months and three, respectively. Each survived, but with bites to their heads where the coyotes grabbed them in an attempt to drag them off. I can't ever recall that being an issue within city limits before, but with a short dry winter there must be less of their natural prey than usual. Either that or more breeding among those wily coyotes. Either way it doesn't bode well for when the larger predators, like the bears, wake up and come out to play.

Skyward there is a lunar eclipse coming up between late Saturday night and early Sunday morning. Visible in the western hemisphere is a penumbral_eclipse of the moon. At 4 degrees 20 minutes of Scorpio, it is a challenge to walk your talk in the portion of your astrological chart where it is found. The two Sabian symbols for it are "a young boy participating in a sacred ritual" moving on to "ocean waves crash upon obdurate rocks". In other words moving from a symbolic participation to an earthbound one. Are you the rocks or the waves? Mine will be found in the career section and I can see that in all my activities.

I didn't go in to work today. I woke up with that throat infection/flu back in full force. A lot of the staff heve been struggling with it. I think I would have been fine if it hadn't been for the added stressors of the three supervisors battling it out, the speech about the possible election by the Prime Minister, and the townhall meeting with respect to local electoral shenanigans. All of those are ones where I know I'm going to have to deal with fallout, but not have any ability to affect the people creating the difficulties. I guess I use the symbolism of the waves to help. Right? Stay fluid and keep moving with the tides in the affairs of men. In time the power struggles will disintegrate as they are worn away by the flow of events. Easy to visualize, but not so easy to deal with in reality.

Eclipse cycles tend to be paired solar/lunar events generally occurring twice a year. The next cycle - Libra/Aries pairing - is due to finish in mid-October so resolution of this round won't be complete until then. Maybe that's why I keep thinking the election won't be called until the autumn.

One Returning Officer I know called today to tell me that they had resigned as of yesterday. Just couldn't take the constant disruption to their life added in to the treatment we so often receive at the hands of what appear to be the senior levels of Elections Canada. Maybe it's Machiavellian middle managers creating that appearance just like in the workplace I'm assigned to now though. Can't completely discount that possibility too. The person in question said they had submitted their invoice for doing our last assignment 8 weeks ago and they still haven't been paid. One would think that given the instability of the federal government right now that every effort would be made to keep Returning Officers happy enough so that we don't jump ship at the last moment. Either the media version is a total illusion or Elections Canada is playing a really foolish game of chicken. Don't know. Maybe the answer is in the aurora borealis that is supposed to dominate the sky the next couple of days. Right now though I think I'll just crawl back into bed. Wake me when it's over - okay?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats