Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:56 PM - 19.04.05
Visitations
Well this day was a blur. Arrived at work to find last minute preparations underway for the open house. that last minute panic. changed in to my official "Route 66" T-shirt since the theme was "the information highway". Road music was being cranked out from a couple of ghetto blasters, a two lane highway had been taped along the carpet and things to do with racing and cars were all over the place. Bunting and posters on the shelves and doorways, match box cars all over the desks and tables, and regular street signs at strategic intervals anchored with real concrete bases. Oh my, decided not to ask where they came from.

I was assigned some of the last minute paperwork and then did a stint as a "greeter" after the highlight of the morning was held. That was the radio controlled car race between the CEO for the Canadian division and the VP of marketing. I can see why he's CEO - no contest in who got to the finish line first. Very pleasant person, as was the VP. A lot of the staff had come down to withness the evnt so our next task was to direct them in their hunt for information. They each received a map that led them to various parts of the records center. If they remembered to get all their visa stamps they could enter the map in to the draw for one of our door prizes. There was a guess who we are contest that had them matching our current photos with baby pictures we each brought in. That was a hard activity for most people - even we weren't really certain we knew who each photo represented. The last contest for chances at door prizes was simply questions specific to parts of our operations. A lot of the answers were on the records website so it was a little less frustrating for staff. Last pit stop was the food and movie section. Lots of munchies to entice people to sit through brief instructional videos on how to use our e-resources.

Did we get any real work done today? WEll yes in between and around about. Sometimes we can save ourselves a lot of extra work by doing a little education at the front end. A lot of the users - epecially the younger adults seemed to really enjoy the experience. They won't be so shy now about coming to see what is available to them. Most companies invest an awful lot of money is support tools for their staff but it doesn't really matter if it isn't used or isn't maximized in it s effectiveness.

I spent more time on the June play day thing. First up the financials. Then the chairperson came back with what seemed to be a request to scale back the options, but not really. I finally asked her if I could include the dance studio owner in the e-conversation directly because I felt as though she was trying to use me as the vehicle to haggle with this vendor. Not happening. If she has to deal directly and openly with him instead of hiding behind me I think there will be a better outcome in the end. I also got two calls from the one tech support from Elections Canada about the one software application that was acting wonky. I hadn't made the amendments she had written about when I emailed all those screen shots to her with the commentary. No - I really don't have the time to do that when it is likely a lot fo the work will be lost when it's uploaded when the election is called. That's what happened last time anyway. I know - o ye of little faith. Been this route too many times.

Got home to find another nasty note from one of their finance people. I have all the documentation I need to prove I did as I waas asked but they went on at length about money for an AARO (additional assistant RO office) that I was purportedly given. In all three events I've done I've never had an AARO or a second Returning Office. I have a hard enough time finding one office for an event. Oh well, maybe they just need a records management team in their offices so that they correct data is in the correct file. Another note from a different finance person saying they'd lost some of my other finance forms yet again. Could I resend them. If not then there won't be the financial resources for me to pay for things like - oh say paper and pencils. Right. I'll deal with those two issues tomorrow. Tonight I spent some time pulling together some web addresses for one of the women I work with so she could research a couple of health topics that were causing her grief. My oldest son was visiting when I walked in the door so I spent some time helping him with a job search and just chatting about how things were going. Watched another couple of episodes of the Lone Gunmen. The spinoff from the X-Files is equally thought provoking and entertaining a the original and with a much greater sense of the absurd running through it. I love the humour and yes there was another Elvis sighting.Time for bed though - Open Houses are exhausting.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats