Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:41 AM - 01.04.05
Fishing
It's late, so I'm hoping this will be brief. Yes, I know I'm in control, but sometimes the muse has different ideas than me. for example, I have no idea where the essay from yesterday came from. It certainly wasn't what was on my mind when I sat down to write - it just sort of took over. Happens a lot at given times - must be a reason for it. I'm just not privy to why.

Anyway, I didn't go in to work yet again today. I tried since I thought I felt ok, but the minute I tried to do anything useful - you know like standing or cleaning - I had to sit down while my youngest did what he could for me. Maybe that's not such a bad thing, but it meant I didn't want to risk the bus travel and connections even before getting in to work. Besides my knee is now quite fine, thank you very much, going upstairs, but still gets snarly if I do too much of the going downstairs. Both are essential when commuting. This site was helpful in thinking aout how to manage that little injury Joint_pain. The end result was that I emailed my supervisor, the recruiter and my chiropractor apologizing profusely for the inconvenience. It's also three whole days less wages for me, which is really painful, but not much else I can do right now.

I did spend a little time working on the election assignment because the lawyer for Elections Canada - the one who approves our lease agreements - said he couldn't download the report from his access point. Went in to check it out and realized that someone had disabled the feature for encoding which polling division a site is situated in, which is the only link that allows one to view the data remotely - say from Ottawa for example. Means I can see the report, but not print it too. For all the other dozen or so reports, that particular link isn't essential because I've printed off other reports to work from on hard copy. Just this one - the one that determines whether I get paid or not. Uh huh. Can anyone say obstruction?

This piece about one of the University of Calgary's faculties opportunity to assess a 16th century manuscript was exciting. The play is from England and was written around the time of Shakespeare. No assertion that there is a connection, but still interesting all the same. This bit of the political version of the game chicken is causing stress right now, because even though each player says they don't want to precipitate an election right now, just one little miscalculation will tip the country into one regardless of intent. "In a democracy dissent is an act of faith. Like medicine, the test of its value is not in its taste, but in its effects." J.W. Fulbright. Righto. It's late and moon gazing has lost its appeal for the moment Light. Time for bed. I really need to be able to go to work tomorrow. April Fools notwithstanding or Poisson d'avril (April fishes) for those of a Gallic disposition.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats