Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:27 PM - 28.03.05
Comfort Zones
The bus was a bit off schedule this morning. I forgot that a lot of people still get Easter Monday off as a statutory holiday. Meant there were plenty of seats both coming and going to work today. Nice spring weatherwas a plus, so that runners and light jackets were all that were required - except for that one little snow flurry just as we were leaving work at the end of the day. At lunch I walked back to the place that recruits film extras. There was a warm chinook wind blowing, making for a dusty sky, but tolerable all the same. I had gone back to the film company to talk a little more with the woman I had met a week ago. We discussed music and social issues. I explained a bit about my background and the fact that I wanted to learn how screen plays were written. She's done some writing herself and further discussion revealed that we have a lot in common. Got to talking about rap and hip hop artists. I hadn't realized that Nelly's mom was a well known gospel singer, but that made sense. There is a particular production that is requiring a lot of extra's right now, but only if one is from a specific background. I don't fit the profile, but I promised to call the people I know who do, in case they'd like to pick up some pocket change while trying out a new experience. Good, positive way to give form to that upcoming eclipse, I think.

Work was quiet and productive throughout. My supervisor had loaned me some regulatory publications for the weekend, so I could finish off the assignment from Elections Canada. That privacy issue rearing it's ugly little head again. Compiled the data I needed and faxed it all off last night - about 50 pages of paperwork, even without the information requested that's prohibited by law. The public sector (government) is one of the big groups of people who got today off, so I knew I wouldn't get a response today - just as well. I did get a call from my tech not too long in to the day. His email had been down and he was apologizing for not responding to me sooner. Truth to tell, the timing is better for me now that I've got the other work out of the way. Focus one one thing at a time, Grasshopper. He allowed that he had transcribed his notes from the training and ended up with about 17 pages for me to read. OI. I guess turnabout is fair play, but it took five months for me to accumulate that 22 pags of data that I had given him. I suppose though if one then thinks of the nearly two hundred pages of documentation that that was sifted out of, it sort of balances out. Right? We agreed to meet this weekend to go over his work and scope out a plan of action. He wants to have a look at our potential office space too. Because it appears we might be spread out between three floors, we have to determine how we are going to make the computer network operate effectively and efficiently. Could be a bit of a trick given the security issues we have to deal with. We had a brief discussion about that based on a couple of news articles I had forwarded to him about technology and theft. Sigh.

Spent some time talking with my supervisor about the potential for an election then segued in to some of the issues arising out of what I've found so far. Agreed that three of us had to meet to scope out a plan of action there as well, since the original contract didn't allow for the findings. Talked with the legal department too around what we need to do to co-ordinate with them. Now that the experts from Texas have all returned to their summer place, we can focus on the day to day work again.

I kept zoning out as my mind kept taking the discussions I had had in various parts of the day and moved through the various permutations and possibilities that were opening up as a result of them. It didn't help that I was listening to East Indian Ragas (classical music) and south African rhythms for a good part of the day. The ragas took me very deeply into meditation. That would be perfect in a non work setting, not so much so otherwise. Produced in Australia, the CD collections of traditional music from all over the world were good quality productions and very reasonably priced. They were part of my treat when I picked out my music the other day. Besides that, it was too hard not to sing along with Brook when I put his CD on, so I had to find something a little less compelling vocally. Although I must admit some of the south African music might be my next foray into trying to sing beyond my comfort zone. Wonder what the cats will do about that?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats