Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:51 PM - 27.03.05
Papering over the differences
I was dreaming a lot last night and it seemed I was being encouraged to get up and take advantage of the sunrise and the day to come. I kept opening doors and windows letting in the bright sunlight. Good metaphors - hope they come to pass. Maybe it has to do with this Spring Bal Masque in Montreal.

I was looking a little closer at the solar ecplipse coming up on April 8. 19 to 20 degrees of Aries it is. Sabian symbols say the position is that of being on a magic carpet - that higher level of understanding, the inner knowing. At 20 degrees the picture is of a young child feeding the birds in winter. Using compassion and having faith that spring will come. Arian eclipses usually mean the ending and beginning all at the same time - thematic of the season. It also means standing on own's own two feet and not following the pack/herd. Being true to one's self and taking that leap of faith. Right.

There's also a conjunction between Mars, Nessus and Chiron (two centaurs and a warrior) just prior to that. Usually means that the bullies overstep and the consequences of their behaviour finally exposes the truth of their real nature. Eric Francis' analysis of the conjunctions that occurred during the Vietnam war is interesting Four_Dead_In_Ohio. On a more pragmatic plane, it can be illustrated through this series of newpaper articles that were published in the New York Times with respect to the security of the Canadian American border or this commentary about the Vatican and the Da Vinci Code.

I've been wandering around with a brace on my left knee the past week. You see, a few weeks back I was working with one of my favorite yoga tapes. I haven't been able to sit in full lotus since I fell and tore all the muscles from hip to knee on my left side in August in 2003. Bliss was being able to slip into that position and feel the opening and release of some tied up energy in the root chakra. I guess I savoured that sensation just a bit too long though. Realized that the clicking in the knee joint just after meant I had probably displaced the meniscus (fibrous pads that act as shock absorbers between the femur and tibia). No major pain, just a bit of tenderness and some swelling if I sat for too long at a computer - who me? At that hip hop lesson where my instructor needed to impress whoever, I took off my runners so that my feet could change positions quickly enough to keep up with his pace. Forgot that doing that on a wood floor glued directly on to concrete would have consequences that would last longer than a day or two. Reactivated that knee problem now didn't I? It feel fine now except when the appendage (knee) is pendular (hanging down) for too long or when going up and down stairs. In my home that is an inevitability. As a reult,I spent some of yesterday surfing the web checking out reviews on different hip hop dance instruction tapes. Like the group work, but can't afford more down time from exercise. Summer's coming after all. My youngest offered his own advice by bringing up the 40 lb bar for his weight set. Need to trim up the arms and bring a little more definition to the pecs don't you know. Whatever.

Today - oh yes, it's Easter Sunday. Two of my siblings are out of town, so our family gathering will be next weekend. Works out pretty well since three of the family have birthdays about then. My sister was a bit beside herself when she called Friday night. My niece wants a belly piercing for her fourteenth birthday. The major concern is the health one of course. What to do? I checked out some of my favorite websites and found that there are also belly chains that don't require the piercing to be attached. An even more compelling upside is that they are a lot more feminine and sexy too. Belly dancers have been using them for centuries. I called my sister back and offered to take my niece shopping in one of my favorite Middle Eastern shops downtown - where I find my belly dance CDs - Son of the Pharoah - because it has a great inventory of belly dance paraphenalia, too. My sister and her hubby - brother of my sister's sister in law, the astrologer - think that some of my hobbies are a little out in left field, so now she's stuck between a rock and a hard place, maybe, because of my offer. Don't want their daughter taking up belly dancing do they? Great exercise and good for preparing for childbirth too but fourteen is too young. Well yes. But that choice or belly piercing. Hmmmmmm.

Cooking in the oven right now is roast beef and baby carrots. Add in mashed potatoes and salad and my guys shouldn't feel too deprived. I went out to a sushi house with my assistant a couple of days ago and had my fill of fish. Yesterday my Dad and I went out for a while. Ended up at an Italian restaurant - fish again for me. A home cooked meal will go down good I think. Am I worried about the mad cow thing? Nope - been eating beef from this country since I had teeth. Every other country that grows and produces beef has the same disease in their herds. What scares me more is all the antibiotics/hormones/chemicals/dyes that the government requires farmers to pour down those poor animals' gullets. To "beef" them up for marketability right? Extra estrogens are known carcinogens. Antibiotics don't work anymore - of course not our immune systems are bathed in them every time we eat or ingest dairy or meat products. The bacteria that antibiotics are supposed to fight have built up an immunity to them. They've mutated. Dyes cause hyperactivity/ADD symptoms. Uh huh. Who does one trust - the creator or politicians/pharmaceutical companies. When vegetarians talk about how much healthier they are that is more the reason than the type of food ingested.

Anyway I have a lot of paperwork to finish off - guess I'd better quit rambling and go get it done.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats