Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:56 AM - 24.03.05
Bunnies
Well Diaryland's site has been inaccessible for the past couple of days and maybe that is a good thing. My favorite astrologer Fisher_King made reference to the concept of "measure twice, cut once" or, as he put it, "think twice, speak once" maybe even think again. I found that invaluable advice the past few days, since it seemed only half a story was being presented almost constantly. Responding to only what was first seen would have made me look like an idiot. Something that I can manage without any additional assistance on certain days, thank you very much. Meant I kept my nose to the grindstone and my mouth shut. A very productive combination, I must say. There is something odd about the dynamics on the records floor - all very civil and thoughtful all the time. But I've caught people in the bathroom crying and I keep seeing staff going off the floor in two's or three's heading down to the concourse for coffee. That notwithstanding a very well stocked kitchen on our floor, with a nice island sitting inviting staff to pull up a stool and set a spell over coffee and several editions of a number of newspapers. Then there is the bistro that I've mentioned seven floors up that is warm, inviting and even better stocked that our coffee station. In the industry I work in leaving the floor for anything is almost unheard of unless it is work related and you'd better be able to account for every second you are away. Just don't know how to read some of the body language going on - it isn't right somehow.

The election issue is still giving me grief. Not the process this time - it is just that one local rep. Maybe it is just because she really doesn't understand what is being said. I explained after midnight on Monday that I had just received the floor plans for the building I hope to rent, but had found that I couldn't open it or work in the software provided by EC to complete that part of the assignment. Emailed EC techs about it too, since they aren't available during the hours I am at home. The techs did exactly what I needed them to do within half a day. No fuss, no muss. The rep, on the other hand, wrote back a snotty email demanding the work be done immediately and also demanded personal information about potential employees which it is against the law to release to her. Right now the courts are handing down fines of about $25,000 for EACH incident that is in breach of the privacy act. Times about a dozen for me to meet her demands. Doesn't just affect the senior staff either. A volunteer board was smacked with similar fines - even thugh they protested that they did nothing wrong and didn't know what they were doing was illegal. I had already expained that but I don't believe she even read what I said. Personally I have no intention of spending the rest of my life working to pay off fines that would arise if I indulged her ego need at the expense of my employees. Oi.

Got a call on the weekend from an agency I had interviewed with a couple of years ago, in an industry where I have very little background. It was that one very positive interview in a series of very negative ones and it helped me get though a fairly tough time. Vampires. Could I come back in to re-register with them this week. Um,I have two jobs right now. No problem, you can work nights and weekends. Comme to think of it, that the second interviewer mentioned - the bad one - is related to one of the people that I work with now, one who I can't read the body language on at all, her voice says one thing while the body and actions say something else. HMMMMMM. October 2003 - is this a return of an astrological aspect that started then - the eclipse maybe, or just karma playing out? The industry in question? That is the placement for extras in the film industry here. Apparently the government is providing some pretty healthy subsidies to hire locals - only. Does that really mean there is any more work? Before Christmas, the newpapers were saying there were no films being produced here at all and none in the foreseeable future. Didn't get a really clear answer on that, but since one should never turn down work when it is a possibility and because it has been such a positive experience so far, I didn't think I had anything to lose by going back, other than a lunch hour. That wasn't really lost either since it was a good brisk walk there and back again.

The woman who interviewed me this time kept touching my hair. She seemed to be really taken with the fact it was so long, curly and thick. "It's natural too" she kept commenting. Whatever. She also commented I didn't look my age. Given my age, I don't know that that means much really. I still look a lot older than most of the people wandering through - young adults and teens mostly. That didn't seem to be an issue. The only downside this go round was the very drunk receptionist sitting in the main waiting area. It was probably more of an issue for me having survived a marriage to an alcoholic, but finding someone that impaired by lunch was disturbing. Didn't seem to phase any of her co-workers, so who am I to judge. Maybe she had just had a traumatic experience and was dealing with it by acting out. Acting - yes that was it. Anyway I need to go address all the dust bunnies in my house before the Easter Bunny makes his appearance. Ciao baby.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats