Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:55 AM - 15.03.05
Logic
When I interviewed for the assignment I have now, there was just one task that I was told I was to do. People who know me well, including the co-worker who will be walking with me while I'm working here and my supervisor from the old agency, have expressed concern about that. They know I need a high level of change and mental stimulation in the work I do - opportunities to learn and to adapt things so they work more efficiently. Quite honestly I had some concerns too. The way I saw it though, was that if I, or the supervisor I have now, found that the match wasn't working then we would have an opportunity after three months to decide to part company. You see that's how long I am supposed to work through the agency with the company taking me on in their own consultant's pool after that. No face lost either way if it doen't work out.

However, within the week I am now working on four tasks. The original is the coding of course, the second is researching Canadian legislation with respect to retention requirements, the third is finding and protecting some very sensitive documents, and the final one has become verifying, through more research, that the data in the boxes belongs there. That means understanding the corporate umbrella, the operational teams that drive the company and understanding the various evolutions in that structure that made it into the entity it is now.

I talked with two of the women I worked with at the last contract over the lunch hour - just catching up and trading information. Lunch with the one next week. Went walking as well, needing the fresh air to blow out the cobwebs from the mornings efforts. Up to the river then over that path to the opposite side of Chinatown. Nest to the federal building then back I again. the wind was brisk and I found I was glad I had brought my gloves and headband to wear with my winter coat. Vernal equinox next week and Saturn going direct might ease the harshness of the season then, but right now the reality is different. Snow forecast for the next three days.

This afternoon I was researching something about one of those odd relationships, because I had a number of boxes of data that couldn't be coded without understanding how one piece fit to another. Picked up that one thread and started following it, only to find that all of a sudden I was in the middle of a giant loom with the shuttle weaving the pattern of the inter-relationships at warp speed. I had wanted to work on that because I was beginning to get bored with the original task and needed a break. It wasn't long before I decided maybe going back to the simple task was wiser anyway. Not that simple either. The industry I work in is, as I've noted before, very complex in it's business relationships. I still swear that it is all controlled by one guy named Bob who is a middle management government employee in Manitoba. I figure it's his hobby.

I was trying to explain how convoluted it can get to the neighbour I ride to and from work with most days now. I used examples from companies that have long since been eaten up by that take over monster that lives in the middle of downtown Calgary, or by examples that are being very publicly aired in our local media - no secrets leaking - but similar conditions exist in several places/companies still. Rubik's cube is nothing compared to the puzzle the industry can set one. End of the day is no time to do major logic puzzles. Decided that my son and I deserved a treat so we went to buy the new release "What the Bleep do we Know" In some ways it is a lot less complex that the puzzle at work and I love playing with the possibilities in quantum physics. Not to be. the really nice young fellow looking after u pointed out that the cost to order it, since they didn't have it in stock would run about double the cost one bought ove the counter. don't think so. guess I'll just have to order it on-line. My youngest offered to go shopping for it in the old fashioned way - you know troll the malls for the best bargain - and I agreed to wait until he had the chance to do that. By the weekend though, I'll just surf the net til I find the best deal and delivery options if I can't get it any other way. Nice to have options isn't it dear diary. Nice to be able to afford it too.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats