Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:53 AM - 13.03.05
Speculation
I had no idea how much physical energy as being drained from me while trying to cope with the stress of the work I was doing for the other agency. I've been able to get up arlier and stay at th tasks I need to do longer this weekend even though nothing else has changed. I still have a long way to go to get things under control in digging out all the extra stuuf I don't need now that most of the boys are gone, but at least I can see my way clear to doing that once I get this election assignment out of the way.

I spent the whole day putzing on those tasks. Follow up with the printer, the furniture and photocopier suppliers. More phone calls and emails to potential office and polling site landlords to secure rental space. At least I'm still trying - right? got a call from one of the other ROs yesterday - just touching base. Apparently one of the eight in our city has quit and not yet been replaced. I wouldn't be surprised if there weren't a lot of others across Canada, too. I imagine that has the head office in a sweat - it's a tough position to fill or to cover and they don't make it even a bit attractive to the people who might do a good job given the chance. He said he had been called in late in the process to help with the Iraqi vote. The two local ROs originally hired came to blows and one had to be replaced. He said his job was to look after the counting of the votes and tallies for the candidates - all 1100 of them. We talked a bit about overseas postings and he sounded interested so I sent him the link to apply. Maybe he'll have better luck than me. He said the reason local ROs were recruited to do the Iraqi vote was that the one woman who is the local employee here was sent off to manage the office in Toronto because they couldn't find anyone qualified there to do it. I think that means qualified and available because I fail too see how there could be 5 million people in the area with no one able to run the office - right?

I've communicated with both my assistant and my tech this weekend as well just keeping them up to speed and trying to find convenient times that we can work together too. I don't like wasting anyone's time - including my own - but that close call last week is a bit of a warning that things could get really busy at the drop of a writ with no advanced warning at all.

My tech was quite complimentary after he came back from training - said he never realized what a huge undertaking it was or what I actually did in the process. His comment to me was that I had to stop selling myself short and start charging a fair price for all the new processes and creations I provide, both in the government and in the downtown work. I'm not certain what he was referring to and he didn't expand on that theme either, so I guess I'll have to ask for more information. I know that the one recruiter from the one agency said I should put a copyright on every spreadsheet I create, but I don't know how or when to go about any of that. It is nice to know that some peole think my value in the work place is much higher than I often hear my skills are worth. I quite honestly don't even know how to assess that and at this point I'm just reveling in the fact that I am being treated well for a change. I hope that continues for a while. I still have to do some research for my downtown job too. Cnandian law has different requirements for rcords retention than th country where head office is located and that has to be addressed fairly quickly. Still I'm not feeling the sense of exhaustion that was the constant before I got this job so I think I can invest some time in that later tonight.

I did have time this weekend to talk to a couple of co-workers/volunteers I really like just setting up times to get together and catching up on news from their lives. I haven't had the luxury of maintaining my personal relationships either given the workload I've been carrying and the stress it produced. I need compatible people in my life just to keep me in balance. Hopefully this level of energy keeps up or even increases. I had wondered where it had all gone. Now I know.

The only negative was this story from Australia. This major cyclone is beating down an area very close to one of my cousin's home. There is an astrological aspect that seems to go with this type of natural disaster. Oddly it is a trine between Neptune and Jupiter - something that is usually deemed to be a good aspect. It was exact when the tsunami hit and also when Hurricane Andrew hit according to the astrologer in our local paper - Georgia Nicols - I like reading her columns, because she has a naughty sense of humour, not unlike my favorite astrologer Astrofish. Wonder if they're related?

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats