Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

-
Justice
The cats were at it again this morning dear diary. The underwire in one of my two black lace bras had finally pushed through, meaning no support and something like a knife sticking into my underarm if I tried to make do. The other one had disappeared. I wanted to wear my black skirt and blazer today, just because it is the outfit that gives me the most self confidence. Since I had very little left, that particular outfit was important to me. The slip I wanted to wear had disappeared too and I was running late. Finally gave up and wore the white bra with the purple camisole covering it so that the blazer could still be part of the ensemble and the slip with the single slit - good enough.

When I arrived home tonight, shopping bag with unmentionables to replace the ones that now seem to always be heading toward my knees and one new black bra all found on sale for less than the price of just the bra,I spied something black and lacy peeking out from under the coats in the front hall closet. So that's where they were hiding them. Picked them up and realized that the offenders had added insult to injury by marking their territory. Had to be one of the males, right?

Got to work and pulled all the records that seemed to be of such urgency on Friday. Coded them so they were traceable and took them to the one scientists' office. I asked the one nice secretary where she had gone, because I wanted to be certain where in her office she wanted them. Oh didn't I know? She hadn't planned to come in to work today. No sign of her assistant either or the jerk who keeps bugging me, who is also part of her staff. So why the little tantrum or two last week?

In the process of pulling those records, I found that someone had placed more new documents in various places in both rooms where the data now resides. Took it back to enter into the master list, then talked with my supervisor just clarifying the stats from last week. The master spreadsheet, with 1720 entries times 12 fields of data per line, is now up to 1.72 mb of data. The main one that I was working on today has 1400 of those entries. Started working on that main spreadsheet - the one that has more than three times the data as the one just passed on to the scientist in question as well. The one she still hasn't bothered to open, even though it was considered a crime that it wasn't available mid-Thurday. Popped out to get my undies and was gone less than half an hour. Spent the next half hour working with the co-worker and then another 15 minute talking with the landlord from last election when he called to offer to help me find some space for this upcoming one.

Next thing I know the liaison is at my workstation again. "When can I have it and why isn't it done" repeated several times as though it was a mantra. She still wants some of the revisions done and ordered me not to pull the records that I had finished depositing in the scientists office over five hours before. "There are no records in her office - I didn't see them". Not my problem. "Well you shouldn't have done that. I changed my mind about those priorities." Fine time to tell me. No wonder women get a bad name with behaviour like that coming from her. Got the spreadsheet done as best I could by 4 pm and sent it off with a note explaining how to interpret it and citing which of the scientists I had consulted before making any changes.

I imagine there'll be more complaints tomorrow, but I'm only obligated by my contract to remain on site four more days. I've seen a lot of workers stop what they're doing in their last week and just play. I guess I'm just a sucker for punishment. I intend to get everything done that was part of my project, but I'm not staying past that date either. My supervisor had discussed that with me when he called in the morning and said "just don't let her tell you what to do if it isn't something agreed to in the project meeting earlier." That's easy to say when you don't have to deal with one or two of them having a tantrum while you're trying to get the work done that was agreed to, while they're complaining about tasks that were never on the table. Once on the train and then just as I was getting off the bus my supervisor called to clarify some more details about different tasks. It seemed as though he just wanted to make sure I was ok. He really didn't need to ask me the questions he had posed. That made me feel better, I think. Spent most of tonight on the phone or on the computer trying to get job number two done. Listened to Peter Tosh singing "I don't want no peace, I want justice". I could almost understand that.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats