Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

-
Tien shan
I was still in my jammies when there was a knock at the front door morning. I was working on the computer. I heard my youngest head for the door so I just ignored it. Next thing I know my son is insisting I go see the postman. Special Delivery and a signature required. Great - how dignified do you look in jammies, dear diary. Me not at all - white and red flannel print of penguins ice skating. One of the kittens headed out the door past the unsuspecting posties my youngest in hot pursuit. Not much of a dash for freedom once that cold snow hits warm paws though. Signed on the screen thing and retreated inside with my prize. The kittens believe that all boxes are their domain and most prized toys. It was all I could do to get the box open and emptied before they stole it off to become their indoor sled. Well fine I was sitting and reading the binder form the box and going through all the other CDs and bits and pieces I'd just rescued from said box so being tripped up by their antics wasn't a concern. My assignment from Elections Canada - but I'm sure you already guessed that didn't you.

For the amount of hours allocated it didn't look too bad but that dealind of midMarch or March 1 for the office being booked still majkes me nervous. Started making phone calls to the various bodies and individuals listed and just thanked myself for having done some of the prep work over the past few months. It's always in the back of my mind and when an opportunity to get a piece in place is offered I don't hesitate to get that bit done. Just self preservation really. Called the landlord from last time directly since I haven't heard from the realtor. Called one of the other Returning Officers to trade ideas and information - I think that call lasted about two or more hours. Oi. Called some of my staff. One of the first problems I'll face became evident immediately. It's winter here - I think I've mentiond the weather on occasion haven't I? Well sane and those who can afford it in this city go south for the winter just like the Canada Geese. Western Canadians usually make up half the population in Arizona and its neighbouring states I think, just as eastern canadians tend to cluster in Florida. First of my key staff I called - they'll be back in April and the children were heading off for even further south, four less workers right there if this election gets called in the next six weeks. Called the next - phone disconnected. Doesn't necessarily mean they won't be available but finding them might be tricky. A couple more calls with strong affirmatives, but more problems with understnding what I was trying to explain. Yes I have to hav an office by March 1st but that doesn't guarantee anyone a job until the election is actually called. When will that be? I have no idea since it all depends on whether a vote of non-confidence goes through parliament or not. It could be in two days or two years. Requests for rsources I can't offer because they aren't supplied. Well why not? Taxpayer dollars. And on it went.

I had written and sent the letter (email) to my supervisor about the job offer last night but I still had the weekly report to put together tonight too. My stomach started churning all over again as the events of the past few weeks flashed through my mind as I was keying in the stats. Thought I go back to an early part of the assignment to when I felt more positive about things and wished I hadn't - it just reminded me that the strange stuff hads been on-going since I started at this assignment. Last week my tech for this election asked me if I had any correspondence with respect to troubleshooting that I done in previous elections on the federal hardware/software. He seemed to feel it was critical for work done here in the downtown office. I don't get the connection, but it made me uncomfortable because of that. Thinking about what might blow up this week because of the report I sent my supervisor on Friday or the letter I sent yesterday also have me having nightmares. My frined the astrologer told me things were going to get better soon after the turn of last year. How much longer is that? I'm not certain my nerves can take much more.

The cats have offered their version of comic relief and I am very grateful some arcane being saw it as a way to keep me sane. The kittens were making it very clear on Saturday that I was not to leave the house on non-work days. They swarmed my boots as I was trying to put them on and lace them up after shaking them out to be certain I didn't step in any kitty treats - profane or otherwise. When i treid tying up the laces they kept unknotting them - one team doing the distracting role and the others doing the guerilla attack on the strings. Another group were busily trying to rip my skirt and stocking to shreds with those needle sharp claws. When I got home they swarmed the packages purring loudly. Some of the more astute ones just headed for the kibble bag and started ripping it open with teeth and claws. Well it is for them isn't it? When I was writing the letter to my supervisor about the job offer I was really struggling withit. All of a sudden I had a chorus of purring nad cuddling happening around and about the computer. When I woke up from the nightmares the other night the same thing, I awoke to find several cats sitting and facing out in the four cardinal directions all purring. Comforting but also a bit disorienting.

I must admit I'm quite worried about the backlash this week, but I guess the old fall back position of just keeping my nose to the grindstone, headphones firmly in place is the best solution I can come up with. Hope it works dear diary. Wish me luck.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats