Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:32 AM - 08.02.05
Kindness
Short entry tonight because it's late, I think. Rode into work with the one person from my community this morning. Her daughter, who rode with us, was not a happy being and it sort of permeated the ride into work. Sometimes vanity has a price, but other people shouldn't have to pony up - right? One of the reasons I agreed to switch over to commuting by car instead of bus/train was because of the support I received from the mom in question during my divorce and the incident at work a few years back. But I think I've also noted before, dear diary, that I stopped riding with her some time ago because of what she bragged about doing to some of the clients, who are totally dependent on her, at her work. She also has the same attitude toward her co-workers. So much so, that she dug up some dirt on her boss that happened nearly 50 years ago, and would not even be considered an issue now, and posted so that all her co-workers could see it "to put him in his place". She also commented that if only her one workmate had disclosed she was suffering from a serious illness, she wouldn't have retaliatd against her on the days the coworker had been grumpy. I don't know about anyone else, but I know I have enough work on my plate to make what my co-workers do irrelevant unless it affects my tasks or my safety directly. If they're grumpy, I assume they're having a bad day and avoid them. I don't plot and execute revenge as this person does. I agreed to ride with her based on the knowledge that my contract ends at the end of this month so the term of travel is pre-determined. I can provide the emotional support she needs in repayment for when she helped me, but I don't want to find myself entwined in her life for long. This is the one whose husband quit his post for the election at the end of the event and who she is threatening to divorce. I don't want to have anything to with him, but I think whatever is going on must be linked back to that in someway. One of her children called me tonight to remind me of a couple of other reasons why I should be cautious of talking with her at all and it seemed they knew why she was making contact now. Not for my best interest obviously.

Anyway it's only three weeks. Work today was much pleasanter than it has been - for the most part. Basically I was left alone to complete my work. Good thing, because I looked at what I had to get done before the midweek meeting first thing this morning and panicked just a bit. Maybe staff passing by just realized that I didn't have time to chat with them, based on the look on my face. Hard to know. I think I only traded a few words with one of the nicer people, as we were passing in the coffee room. Me leaving with my tea and her going to get water. The only impairment came with the keyboard issue again. Crashed again just before noon. Called the tech and left a voicemail. Then went off to the YWCA to get brochures for their Spring courses and ran into the market to pick up brochures for the university and college spring sessions as well. If this contract is completed on time, then I might be able to get into one of the next programs just at the beginning of the Spring/Summer session. We'll see.

Back at work everything went smoothly until the end of the day. I'm not feeling all that great, so my body just wanted to crawl under th desk and go to sleep. Hard to concentrate under those circumstances. There are two staff with pneumonia working on site right now and I don't want to catch that. The tech came by about 3:30 and acknowledged that the keys on the keyboard were stuck after checking in "settings" to see if something had been programmed in there in error. Not. This article about germs and office equipment ran through my head as wew discussing a new keyboard for my in-office computer Bugs - dirtier than a toilet seat, how encouraging.

Maybe all the flourescent bulbs should be changed to ultra-violet lighting instead. It is what has been proven effective in sterilizing the air conditioning in those offices with "sick building syndrome" and apparently works on office equipment too. When I worked at the hospital, it was also a first line defence against skin conditions and it is what produces those nice artificial tans too. Ultraviolet light as a cureall. No batteries required.

I had avoided the jerk all day, but when the tech moved, after standing and talking with me about replacing that keyboard, I found I was looking directly into his face. He had been standing behind the tech, waiting until he moved. I have to unlearn being polite, I think. There are a lot of staff in the office who I like and would interact with more, if this guy and my co-worker didn't use that as an opportunity to force themselves into the picture. When he pushed in today I automatically said hi, when I just should have turned my back. Nothing I've done seems to discourage him and he seems to think the fact that I'm breathing is consent to his attentions. Saying hi is only going to make things worse. I wonder if ultraviolet light works on jerks too.

Round about 4 pm my supervisor called. He was just touching base on one of the email I had sent last week. He said it was his first chance to go into the office in the past week and that he had seen the other material/questions I'd sent, but hadn't had time to read or respond to them. Wouldn't likely be able to until tomorrow. That's fine, I understand how swamped he is and I appreciated that he took the time to touch base with me anyway to let me know where things stood. Little acts of kindness or respect can really make one's day though, can't they. The health and safety co-ordinator was finally able to get a file trolley for me on Friday. He had even made certain it had a well to place a coffee cup in to prevent spills and two little pockets where things like pens, staplers, and other essential office supplies could be carried into the bargain. I told him that all out wars had been fought in other companies over such luxury items, and that is the truth. He obviously understood how important the little things can be when trying to get one's job done, even though they don't seem all that big a deal. Time and comfort are what they offer and that does matter. Small kindnesses.

Anyway came home and crashed after work - the body really seems to be fighting some sort of germ. Felt badly becuase my oldest son and grandbabies were here, but I just couldn't stay conscious any longer. Think I'll try sleeping a little longer tonight and see if that helps. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats