Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:33 PM - 01.02.05
Good Day Mate
And a happy Imbolc to you, dear diary. This is a cross quarter day, also celebrated as Groundhog Day or Candlemas. It means we have reached the halfway point or are at an angle of 45 degrees to each of the Winter Solstice and the Vernal Equinox. A day of purification to prepare for new life entering this planet. The complementary pole of Imbolc is Samhain (Hallowe'en)which is when recently departed souls can approach and say their good-byes, remember?

When I arrived at work this morning I unpacked my own ball cap and placed the one loaned to me by the health and safety co-ordinator on the chair I use to transport the binders I'm working with between my workstation and the fileroom. Headed down that brightly lit hallway and stopped by his office which is midway between my workstation and the fileroom. He was chatting with one of the permanent staff, so I just made to place it on his desk without interrupting their discussion. He said that it was mine to keep. Now you need to know that consultants are not allowed to have in-huse company products, because it is deemed one of the exclusive privileges of permanent full time staff within the industry where I work.

In my last assignment the library co-ordinator had volunteered to participate in one of the Corporate Challenge (Grown up for Track and Field Day) Events because they were short participants. Went through all the hoops including getting her company T-shirt that is required to participate. The day before the event - after she had invited friends and family to come watch - the liaison came by to tell her she wasn't going to be allowed to put the T-shirt on, let alone keep it, or to compete in the event either. Someone had noticed that her employment status was "contract" so she was deemed unworthy of representing the company. Great way to build morale all around. I remember feeling sick to my stomach by the pettiness of the behaviour and angry at the way the co-ordinator was treated even though I really couldn't find much to like about her as a co-worker in the work environment. She had stepped up to the plate when no one else would and this was her reward. Every one deserves to be treated with some respect and dignity regardless of what labels are hung on them by others.

So although it might seem like a small thing to anyone else, I was very happy about the gift. Finished exchanging completed work for new and headed back to my station. Retired my own ball cap to my desk in a bag and adjusted the headband on the company ball cap so it wouldn't keep falling over my eyes. So now I have blinders and mufflers (headphones) to block out the rest of the company while I work. Seems to filter out most interaction but there were still several people who stopped by to chat or exchange information with me so I guess it's not too anti-social in terms of a message. Still got calls on my cell that I answered too. My supervisor just responding to some of what I had emailed to him and a personnel agency - more on that later. Didn't block out the storm between and among some of the financial staff either. I noticed a procession of them in and out of the managers office the past couple of days. All looking tense, they were. When my music ran out before one of my tasks today I continued keying, headphones on and musicless. Heard the gist of the dispute - maybe - and would rather not have known. One of the reasons I really like it when my supervisor tells me to keep my headphones on.

My co-worker was away today on an appointment according to my supevisor. It's odd how just a little thing like that can affect you. When I received the e-mail, it was as though a weight fell off my shoulders. What it meant to me was I could just relax and focus on my tasks for the day. I'm not certain why I feel so pressured around him but that feeling is constantly there when he's around. I was trying to be fair as I was contemplating that fact, but I've worked with other consultants through the data management company and never felt I was required to interact anymore than was necessary to get our tasks done. If you recall my earliest entries, dear diary, my co-worker then and I actually made allowances for each other's circadian rhythms and made certain we didn't associate for significant chunks of the day. Both of us had our own very active personal relations and activities and neither of us expected the other to fill in any "empty spots" in the other's life. Hmmm.

Got a call just before lunch from a personnel agency that I've interviewed with before. They wanted a reference for the supervisor of my tech from the election for a placement they had starting tomorrow. They also wanted it immediately. She had already explained to them that I can't take time during work hurs but they had difficulty accommodating that fact. I have no problem with helping out any of my election staff but not at the expense of the client who is cutting my paycheque. As it turned out, when I did call them back during my lunch break it took about half of it to answer all their questions. I had 600 to 700 people work for me over the last election times that amount of time for each if each required just one reference for themselves. That's a lot of my personal time. Not only that but with all the legislation now about privacy and employee rights - which I strongly support - it becomes very touchy when some of the agencies want to ask qustions about your staff. The workstation I sit at isn't ideal either because I can't close a door and the partitions are about 6 feet high so that one can't close off sound even if there is a door. I wanted my staff member to get the job but I found it very difficult to protect her rights and meet all my responsibilites as an employer too. Talked as softly as I could and weighed those words very carefully. did I say enough, did I say too much; were some of the questions even appropriate? That all cycles around in the mind after. She emailed me to confirm that she got the palcement and starts tomorrow so I guess that's all that counts. Passed my tech on a short walk I took to stretch in the afternoon and told him the good news. He was really pleased for her too.

The work day ended on that good news story and I don't think I have anything to top it right now so good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats