Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:18 AM - 25.01.05
chakra
I got to sleep in a bit this morning dear diary. Doctor's appointment first thing to check vitals and such. Two problems arose first thing. Apparently Ms Kitty is not a fan of jazz - that is what plays on BBC at that time of day. She tried to break the alarm clock to shut it off. I wasn't without sympathy since I don't like the loud brassy form of jazz even when I'm wide awake. Rescued the alarm then searched high and low for underwear - the cats hide it again. I finally was able to locat enough unmentionables to get out the door but was slipless. Oh no. Well actually the way the climate is around here right now it is an issue. Static cling means fabric wrapped intimately around the body. Even with a long skirt that is a bit too graphic for me. The extra layer of slip might have made a difference - finally located a can of static guard and was good to go though.

On the bus met one worker from the election. She's dealing with office politics and was quite distressed with the whole situation. She was a really great worker for me always going that extra mile and quick on the uptake too. An absolutely critical skill given elections end well before most people's learning curves even start. So when she told me that the complaint was that she hadn't learned enough in the six weeks she's been there I found it difficult to believe. Apparently the part of the job she hasn't learned is the part she hasn't really worked with - being assigned to multiple positions and responsibilites. I asked if her co-workers were all completely knowledgeable about the area where she was being threatened with disciplinary action. No and some of them have been at that job for several years. Well then sounds more like the senoir supervisor has another axe to grind than what they are putting forard as an excuse. She's naturally very upset but I can't do much but tell what has worked for me in the past. Document all the assignments and tasks one is asked to do and the time spent on each. Provide numbers of things completed and ask for that benchmark to be measured. Often the fact is that the supervisor's have no idea that they've loaded up someone so heavily and they also have no idea what exactly their staff are doing. I explained that during the election I knew I couldn't monitor what everyone else was doing and often felt as though I was throwing my staff to the lions since the time for training and the option of providing adequate support often weren't there. I love mentoring and teaching but fire fighting was all I seemed to be able to do a lot of the time. Maybe her supervisor is in a similar position or maybe, like mine now they are too removed from the front lines to really see what is happening or who is doing what. Don't know.

The doctor visit was relatively quick so I didn't miss too much time at work. Got the lecture on taking more meds and this time he's right. I'll be good but the work stress is something I can't really do much about. He acknowledged that at the end of the session with a grin. Asked me if the evidence I was finding was really good this time. Um well can't say. Anyway, skipped lunch and almost caught up the lost time that way. My youngest had packed a roast beef sandwich into my bag sometme in the middle of the night last night so I was able to munch away as I keyed. How did he know that I was really hungry and that I hadn't anything there. The rest of the staff left me alone except for the one nice secretary who lives in our community. Around lunch she came and gave me a nudge. Sandwiches and cookies in the staff coffee room - leftovers up for grabs fro a morning meeting. I went and grabbed some fresh fruit and half a cookie. Yum.

On the diskman today - The Tea Party, Tom Waites, Genesis and Chopin for starters. Must be that Chiron thang going on becasue the music seemed to start the muladhara chakra opening up and I could feel the kundalini enrgy coiling upward in my body. Not at work for heaven's sake! Tea Party = root chakra, th whole room was vibrating like an earthquake. Tom Waites' "Bone Machine" - Wade Davis' work on obeah set to music I think - incredible poetry but scary nonetheless. Next chakra flowering, do I hear Kokopelli or is that Shiva? Chopin and the solar plexus, then the heart and throat chakras opened as I was listening to the Arabian rhythms CD. Curious.

Picked up my prescription on the way home. Nice pharmacist - Aleem I think, then home to numbers three, four and six son with the one girlfriend who loves cats into the bargain. Could she take her baby out for pracitce. fine. Sent my tech's paperwork off to Ottawa by fax - just in case, hedging bets a bit here. Next sent in my timesheet for the monthend pay. Important things dne just in time for one of the small kittens to decide to dive into the toilet just a I was flushing dirty litter down. That kitten purred and actually wanted more and longer bathing privileges. She opened her little paws wide so we could soap and rinse more thoroughly then just cuddled up close when towel time came. What's up with that? Antway my turn to wash up and towel off. Goodnight dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats