Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:55 PM - 23.01.05
Voting
Another dream I had last week caused a bit of dissonance or me. I was busy looking after some very new kittens. It felt as though I was on a fairly large and modern farm. Someone noted that I was very good at what I was doing - would I like to do it for a living. The answer was yes, but then I was told I would have to live the rest of my life on minimum wage. Much as I love working with animals, I can't survive financially on that. I'm glad it wasn't a question posed in "real" life.

Last night I danced with the cats and my veil for a few hours. It's amazing how one feels nothing pain-wise until one quits, isn't it? I was working the veil so it would be just above the cats' heads. The reason was two-fold. I wanted them to run and jump so they got some exercise and I wanted to not have the veil shredded completely by the end of the exercise. The cats tired out before I did. When I feel stress, dancing is one of the ways I can discharge it completey if I can just get myself going. " Dance as though no one is watching". Well no one was - my youngest high tailed it for the computer room as soon as I put on the '60's stuff although it was evident he really enjoyed some of the Elvis collection. Not so much so with The Animals (Shake) - he snorted and muttered under his breath as he was exiting stage right. When the boys' Dad left, sometimes the strain was unbearable in those early days and I don't know what I woud have done if dancing hadn't been an option. On a couple of occasions I can recall starting to dance somewhere around the midnight hour and continuing on until dawn the next day. Tea Party's early CDs were my favorite then. By the time I was done it felt as good as a very deep meditation.

Big scare yesterday was the news reports that our Prime Minister had threatened to call an election on the "gay" marriage issue. Vote. Now the last time the Supreme Court ruled on a Charter of Rights issue they simply read the legislation into the books of any Province that refused to bring their statutes into compliance. The last time being specific to the Province of Alberta. That being said, if the vote can only be on the wording of the bill and not the substance, I don't see the point of spending the kind of money necessary to run a country wide election when there is no real option for choice. The whole point of the Charter of Rights is to protect minorities from discrimination of the majority. Not my call though.

The debate about the definition of what constitues family for legal purposes has been hot and heavy though. I liked this one columnist comments. Luke. She was questioning one faith's right to impose it's beliefs on those not of that faith. If for example, the faith in question had been Islam, the law of Sharia wouldn't be given the time of day in any but civil matters and even that with reservations. I agree wholeheartedly with that stance given that Sharia denies women a lot of basic Canadian rights, for example. Sharia. How can that law override or take away Canadian womens' right just because of the name they invoke when they pray within a faith system they were born and raised onto rather than having an option to choose as adults.

A lot of the palaver in the press seems to be over the idea that homosexuality is a choice not an innate (born with it) characteristic. I don't know if that is so or not, but most people don't freely choose lifestyles that make them the target of such intense hatred. The numbers of souls in this category are estimated to be 10% or about the same percentage of the population who are inately left handed. That is considered statistically significant. One thing that I noticed though, when I was volunteering with family support services, was that the women who disclosed they were of that orientation always noted sustained sexual abuse by a male in power over them - family, or their friends or religious leaders in their church, about 50% in either category - usually before the age of five. Whether it was spoken of directly or otherwise, there seemed to be the need to never have those memories reactivated by having to experience the sex act with any other male - ever. There was an equally strong need expressed by those women for the intense emotional bonding that comes from a physical union. Going back to the arguments in the media, it seems that churches epecially might want to clean up their dirty little secrets - those contributing about half the trauma that generates such choices as adults - rather than punishing the victims of their own negligence for coping with the abuse in the only way they know how or that is available. I'm thinking specifically of the revelation of how children in orphanages, reform schools and reservation schools were tortured in the name of whoever's god. That quote in the gospel of Matthew about removing the log in one' own eye before talking about the mote in another's being a good place to start.

Today was busy in a domestic sense. Cleaned, laundered and parented by phone. Dropped by my tech's home just after supper to drop off the manuals for his new role in the next election. Given the scare of the Prime Minister's announcement Friday night I decided I'd better get at least my basic preparations underway. Dug out some of the other key manuals and will do some more phoning over the next few days I think. Right now it's time for sleep though - Monday always seems to come way before I'm ready for her. Good night dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats