Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:46 PM - 22.01.05
Animal Crackers
As I was powering off the computer last night, I realized the big irony in my post last night, dear diary. Did you catch it? Let's see then, "The Animals Greatest Hits" featuring Eric Burdon. The two songs I cited? "Ring of Fire" - originally a Johnny Cash song as I noted then and "To Love Somebody" originally by the Bee Gees. How could I defame their memories. Well I didn't mean to, but you see, those songs are evocative of the last time I felt really safe - when I was a small child during the '60s. I love the Bee Gee's music - even the disco, the Almighty forgive me - and would never knowingly promote someone else's version over theirs. It was the memories that their music brings up that are treasured. Sorry guys.

The thing about the Animal's version was the sense of mischief - playful, not mean - that permeated their renditions. It was funny but you had to be there, watching the Smothers Brothers, the Laugh-in Gang, Arlo Guthrie, Flip Wilson, George Carlin and Carol Burnetts'crew to get the gist of it. See? Well you weren't alive then, dear diary so I guess you can't be expected to understand. There was balance in what I listened to though. Pavarotti played as did Carmina Burana and Bach's Toccata and Fugues. Problem is I can't go for Baroque for too long (pun intended) too ornate for me. then there was Nusrat Ali Khan's Musst Musst and the Desert Roses and Arabian Rhythms collection - I love that CD. Onto Gordon Lightfoot, The Rankins, The Guess Who and James Keelaghan and Oscar Lopez - Canadian content all. How many languages? Um English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Gaelic, Urdu, Arabic, Hindi, Punjabi and maybe some Berber too. Latin in Carmina Burana, remember? I only speak Canadian, but music is uber linguistics.

Whem I was answering that radio station survey a week or so ago I suddenly clued in to the fact that my alarm radio wasn't properly tuned in to the music I like - eclectic and international. I surfed the air waves looking for CJSW (university radio) or CBC either of which works but ended up on BBC. Don't know why but there it stays for now. It is a bit strange to wake up in the deep of winter dark to hear someone chirrup happily about it being "the news at 13:00 hours". Righto. More evidence for "What the Bleep do We Know" - the movie I mean.

This morning woke up about 4 in the am and realized that the furnace had gone out. Just a tad chilly given that with the windchill it was about -28 C in the downtown last night. What did I do? Went back to sleep of course. I had enough blankies and several cats on top of me keeping me toasty warm. Fixing furnaces in frigid air is a daylight task. So when daylight broke through my curtains around 8 in the am I got up and went to the basement to address the issue. 10 minutes later the furnace was firing up nicely and I sat down to read the week's collection of newspapers. Remember I had the flu on Monday and the added stress of dealing with the strange behaviours of supervisor and co-workers just wasn't a formula for relaxing with the paper when I got home. Besides I think I was busy with different family issues each night as well. Sometimes that works for the best anyway. The issue of the strangenes at work was captured in the business section with an interview with a lawyer I liked that I worked with some years ago on worker entitlements and rights. He aid that often the corporate world is less than honest about their exploitation of the "master/servant" dichotomy. Uh huh. The other source of enlightenment was the synchronous topic addressed in several of the cartoon strips I read about work life. Maybe I should just cut them out and post them on the walls of the workstation where I work. Remember bullies don't like it when everyone can see what they are doing. No direct confrontation if I did that since they are "just comics" but the impact might be the same. Have to think about that I guess.

Anyway those cats are fussing. Feeding time at the zoo. See you later dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats