Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:16 AM - 19.01.05
Soldering and Iron
When I was dreaming yesterday, there was a long segment where it seemed as though we were standing at the top of an ancient astronomical observatory in what is now Iran. The Magi were there and there was tremendous excitement because of what they were seeing cross the heavens. There was a voice saying "Look at the skies over Iran" many times. Then the sky turned into an Orrery which by definition in Merriam_Webster is a clock like model of the universe that demonstrates the relation of the planets each to one another and exhibits their characteristics as well. There was one in Professor Lupin's classroom in the latest Harry Potter movie "The Prisoner of Azkaban" that played a key role with respect to the time travel done by some of the characters.

This morning I decided I was well enough to manage the commute into work - that is always my yardstick for whether I can make it or not. I was ok until the train took the corner by "Silly" City Hall as one exits the bridge into the downtown core. I was very fortunate that I hadn't eaten or I think I would have disgraced myself by vomiting up anything I had had. As it was, I still had to fight not to do so. Bleagh. Just concentrated on getting as much data entry done to make up for lost time. I want to get the segment of the project I'm working on done no later than the end of January. I'm not certain why that feels so important but at some level my intuition is telling me that something else will demand my time after that.

I left a voicemail for my supervisor to see if their IT department had been able to find a replacement power source for the laptop. The one thing that could really slow things up right now so that I couldn't meet that deadline, would be that breaking down. He called shortly after to ask for more specifics about the unit. Fortunately one of the client's techs was just asking about the laptop's performance, so he helped me pick out the pieces of information that the other techs at the data management firm would need to work with. E-mailed that off and looked up to see my tech from the election peeking over the desk's divider. It was half-past lunch, did I want to join him on his smoke break. I did want to talk with him about the election issues and it was nice to know he was in the building anyway. He asked how things had been going and I told him about some of the tension we'd seen among staff between Christmas and New Years. He asked if I'd managed to stay out of the firing line and I said yes - just barely. He asked if there was something else bugging me so I told him about the male who has been badgering me, after one of the other staff standing with us went back to her post. Odd how just having someone else I know on site made me feel safer. I had already emailed my supervisor about it, but hadn't asked for any action on it - it was just a FYI report. Maybe he had asked my tech to check and see if things had improved any. Don't know. Just got back to the workstation when the cell phone rang.

My supervisor asked if I could bring the laptop to their offices so that one of their techs could fix it. No problem. It's about a ten minute walk and the weather is of the warm, melting winds type which was pleasurable to be out in. Met my supervisor on his floor and he took me down to meet the tech, solder iron at the ready. Nice guy. The three of us chatted for a while and my supervisor and I went over what I had sent him as comments. I asked what I was supposed to work on once the indexing was done - my contract being to the end of February. A number of options were put forward, but it seemed a bit speculative at this point. Some change is obviously going to happen soon at the client's and it appears this project was part of the preparation for that. I suspect that decisions couldn't be made until they had some idea what they actually had with respect to records. At 2 pm my supervisor said he needed to get some other work done and left. The soldering was not going all that well, but the tech and I just chatted about his home on the East Coast of Canada while he wrestled the wiring into submission.

It was 3 pm before I was able to leave to go back to the client's office. On the way, I met one of the young women who had worked as a consultant while I was assigned in one of the other client's offices about three years ago. It was good to reconnect and we agreed to get together for lunch soon, since the two clients are just across the street from each other. Bonus. Next I met one of the nice secretaries - the one who had been laid off and had temped for a while - on the steps of the building as I reached the client's worksite. She was just finishing off her smoke break and we chatted a bit on the way upstairs. Another invitation to have lunch together. See downtown work has it's good side too. I stayed a bit later than the regular quit time trying to play catch up - again having lost two hours to the repair issue, but c'est la vie, I guess. Stopped off for groceries on the way home and now I think I'm ready for bed. Goodnight dear diary.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats