Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:12 PM - 16.01.05
Sunday Work
I was busy today dear diary. About an hour to write a report for my supervisor. Yes I know, but the command to submit comments and concerns to him rather than raising them in the meeting is a barrier to me doing due diligence in the most direct way. At least if I've conveyed them to him, with a record being kept, it is better than nothing. I still don't like it though.

A request for another letter of reference from someone who worked for me during the election was at least a pleasant task. It's one of those unforeseen bonuses of the job. Then, my youngest and I trekked ove to the strip mall to pick up essentials to carry us over a couple of days. You see, there is a big promotional sale on at the grocery store on Tuesday and I don't want to miss out. With what the milkman drops off it should be enough to keep us fed until then. The temperature,when we went out at the supper hour, was -13 C/2 F. Three times as warm as two days ago. I didn't need that extra two layers of clothing - yes. I need to be warm, but the extra weight of all that fabric and time spent layering everything on then doing up a coat over it all is a pain.

Didn't do much else but house work and laundry. Visited this website Bad_Boss on the recommendation of one of the articles in the business section of the paper. I'm still annoyed with my supervisor with respect to the discussion he had with one of the client's staff and my co-worker, but I thought I'd better check to see if I wasn't over-reacting to it either. You know that Monkees tune "A Little Bit Me, A Little Bit You". Don't know though. The site was full of interesting comments, stories and links. Some of them just increased the concern rather than otherwise. The other article I liked was by that columnist in the entertainment section. Very clever allegory I must say.

I was looking back in your posts dear diary to two years ago today. I realized that was when I first met my co-worker's father. He is the one that tried to recruit me into Bernard Haldane. You know the "we promise to get your a really good job" - as soon as you hand over about $5000 for our services. The idea is that they train you to interview better. I decided after a couple of meetings that I needed a lot of things, but their "coaching programs " wasn't one of them. Odd thing was I could have sworn I saw him on the way to the train last week. It was Thursday - one of the really frigid afternoons. It was at the corner just before the station, when I was standing in a group of about 10 other pedestrians waiting for the light to change so we could run for the train sitting at the station. This very tall red-headed, blue-eyed guy in his mid-50s shoved a blue plastic beer mug at me and demanded money. The Dad was a semipro or pro football player in the US and still has that build. There aren't a lot of people who look like him in this town. This fellow did and was also very well dressed for one of the street people. They have to have licences (isn't that ridiculous?) visible when they ask for spare change and there wasn't one visible on this guy. He got quite verbal when I said I didn't have any. It was the day before payday and I had spent all my first one paying up the bills, remember dear diary. Not only that, but I had tithed myself so that I had donated to the tsunami relief efforts, bought a pre-packaged week of food at the grocery store for the food bank, bought one of the street people's magazines from him and handed one of the legal "beggars" all the change I had left the day before. It really bothers me to say no to someone who is obviously in need, but I can't help every one on my wages and I choose those people who seem to need it most. This fellow may have, but the belligerance and the way he was outfitted didn't help his cause much with me. Anyway probably just some freudian thing going on in my mind to think it was him - maybe because it was the anniversary of our first meeting or maybe because of what my supervisor had discussed with the son/coworker. don't know.

Anyway time to check the news to see how to dress in the morning.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats