Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:00 PM - 03.01.05
2005
I tried calling the payroll person at the data management company today to ask her why she had handled my pay so that I wouldn't receive it on the designated day. The office was closed and maybe that was a good thing. I had had reservations about a discussion over the phone because I am still quite emotional about it.

That came clear to me yesterday when I was talking with a man that my sister's sister-in-law had referred to me for help. He has a small business in the area where she lives. From what she can gather - the gentleman's accent makes it difficullt for her to understand him - a campaign to discredit him and cause him loss of business is being waged by one member of the community association there. That isn't all that unusual. I have tried working as a volunteer on such boards in this community and it is common for people with a single issue or axe to grind to take a position on the board then abuse it, often completely unbeknownst to the rest of the board, in order to get what they want.

In this case the woman is framing her "concern" around the type of business it is. A liquor store. Quite honestly, I don't like them either based on my experiences living with an alcoholic, but they are legal and legitimate businesses that pay taxes. They are also closely regulated and observed, so that the worst excesses of the addictions aren't as much of a problem. Prohibition may be attractive, and I like the idea, but then it just becomes another money maker for the blackmarketeers and drug lords. At least this is taxed and the money goes back into the community. One less level of money laundering if one is really cynical.

Anyway this woman is making allegations that are directly disputed in writing by the people who live all around his establishment. He is not selling to underage youth, allowing anyone to drink in the parking lot or allowing any mess to be created. The residents nearby say that when the building was empty it was a lot more dangerous because it was being used by junkies and prostitutes who squatted in the building for shelter and to carry out their "businesses". After that the liquor store seems almost staid by their measure. He says he was approached by a large liquor store chain that has bought out and closed down other outlets near their other stores. They offered him $5000 to move elsewhere and were very angry when he turned them down. He wonders if she stands to gain something if she manages to drive him out by harassing him.

Apparently she has also sent letters to the licencing bodies and the community residents using her volunteer title and representing her drive to close him down as a community association position. Apparently he has a letter from the president of their board that offers support for him to continue. He said he was getting to the point where he wanted to retaliate or to treat her in kind. I noted I understood how he felt, but that I thought that would just play right into her hands. She could then claim he was threatening and harassing her - reversing the truth and mirroring it on to him. Sometimes Satyagraha a la Gandhi is the only response possible when dealing with someone who wilfully seeks and wields so much power in their own self interest. By the end of the conversation he agreed that he wouldn't do anything other than document everything that had occurred. He can then get a lawyer to write a cease and desist letter or present his case to the city regulators as he sees fit.

I was thinking about that conversation when I decided I would send an email to the payroll person rather than trying to speak with her in person, on a workday while in a clients office. My only other option right now. Given my advice to this man I decided I better follow through myself. It is really embarrssing to have to discuss personal issues at a clients office in full hearing of anyone who is nearby. It also shows no respect for the client's right for my full attention and time while working in their office. Also if the person I spoke with chose, she could represent what I said to others in ways that I never intended. I simply wrote the email detailing the incident and explaining it's impact on me. Being that it was written I had the opportunity to make certain no hyperbole slipped in, no whining and I tried not to be overly emotional - one can't end up crying in an email. Right? I sent it off to her and cc'd my supervisor just so she couldn't delete it, deny receipt or misrepresent or rewrite what I had said. Don't know if it's the correct choice but it was the only one that worked for me.

On a more positive note this story about collaboration on fighting terrorism Spain was encouraging. The Madrid attack should not be forgotten nor its victims either. And this one on women getting to vote in the Middle East was at least one step forward after two steps back Election. Sometimes acting as the tide does is the only way forward on tough issues - move forward, retreat a little, move forward again, retreat a little, sort of like hexagram "Retreat" in the I Ching. So ends today, cats to feed and bellies to dance, um what ever.

�

previous - next

�

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

web stats